Liberating The Office Workers & Watching Classic Comedy Genius - Tony Hancock's 'The Rebel' - Full Movie

in #comedy6 years ago

Tony Hancock was a huge star in the 1960s, a British comic who made many radio and TV shows (Hancock's half hour, being the best known one). I just had an inspiration to watch his movie 'The Rebel' ('Call Me Genius' in the US) and had many flashbacks to being a child watching it!

The theme to 'The Rebel' is that Tony works in a dreary office job in London and struggles with the passion he feels inside to be an artist. He relocates to Paris and through a combination of dumb luck, exaggeration and cynical exploitation of eccentric artistic circles, he becomes a famous artist - despite having no artistic skill whatsoever.

I can see when watching this now that to some extent this might have been an unspoken autobiography from his heart. He was a depressive and committed suicide in 1968 - as with many 'funny' people, he used laughter as a cover to hide his real feelings, which is one of many such patterns I have dissected and healed from in myself over the last few years.

This movie also reminds me of a great music video that I found not long ago that is the only one I've ever seen that really reflects how I feel about earlier years in my life, growing up outside of London, commuting in to work there and finally throwing it away due to a need to be real! Check out 'Pandora' if you haven't already:

Full Movie


Thankfully you can watch the full version on Youtube here:

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


tribesteemup-orange-banner.png


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84