ColorChallenge - SaturdayIndigo - Painting the Town Blue - Koprivshtitsa, Bulgaria


About 100 kilometers east of Sofia, Bulgaria's capital, in the Sredna Gora Mountains, you will find the quaint little town of Koprivshtitsa. It is an ethnographic and architectural reserve where you can find hundreds of 19th century monuments.


I have so many pictures from our time in Koprivshtitsa but found this small batch perfect for @kalemandra's #saturdayindigo #colorchallenge.

Koprivshtitsa Indigo 5.jpg
This is The Church of Assumption of Virgin Mary built in 1817. I have never seen a church this color before, have you?


Koprivshtitsa Indigo 2.jpg
Here's @brentssanders getting the shot. I tried not to go behind him and take all of the same pictures but there were moments I was doubling up. His red jacket adds a nice pop, don't you think? 💥


Koprivshtitsa Indigo 3.jpg
This is an example of Bulgarian Renaissance Architecture. As I mentioned, this town is an architectural reserve so many of the buildings and homes have been restored. Some sprucing up is most likely in store for this beauty but I actually find the paint job kind of cool.


Koprivshtitsa Indigo 4.jpg
I am taking an abstract approach in showing you the amazing wood carved medallion above the light fixture on our porch. I mean, LOOK AT IT! These details were throughout the charming place we stayed, Dona Guest House. I highly recommend it and hope to get back there myself!

Bulgaria is known for their wood carving and there is even a museum dedicated to just that a few hours east of Koprivshtitsa in the Daskalov's House of Tryavna. This place is on my list of things to see next time. I'll let you know what I find. 😉


I hope you enjoyed this indigo themed tour of the sites of Koprivshtitsa. I know I did...good memories for me! Of all the places we visited (and there were dozens!) in our two month tour of Bulgaria, this was my absolute favorite stop. It is my intent to show you more from here very soon.


!steemitworldmap 42.640059 lat 24.358450 long Koprivshtitsa, Bulgaria d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=colorchallenge-saturdayindigo-painting-the-town-blue-koprivshtitsa-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I'm surprised you haven't submitted these pics for Indigo Saturday before ... Or have you?

Frankly, I don't remember and I didn't scroll back to check. I may have done a post on the church the other two pics are new...I think. :)

Hmmm. My bad (memory).

And, because that was going to bug me, I did scroll back and no, I have not posted any of these pics before but probably did on Facebook. You were much more diligent in keeping up so I found your post:
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@brentssanders/colorchallenge-saturdayindigo-14-october-2017 which was only a couple before that glorious day that you received that super jumbo amount of upvotes that sent you on your meteoric rise to fame! ;)

;) I could have sworn I have read that bit about not wanting to steal my views, with that same red jacket of mine on, in the same pic. But maybe you posted it on fb.

Trust your memory. It serves you well.

The blue on that church is absolutely mesmerizing! Great photos, thanks for sharing them with us.

It is vibrant. The whole town is like that...houses/buildings painted yellow, red, green.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47