You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lake Tahoe Lupine Wildflowers at Night - ColorChallenge - Indigo Saturday

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Wow, this is fantastic! And you are a PRO at light painting! I've done many attempts at this but they never come out properly exposed like this! But I'm guessing you have thousands of hours of practice be a photog as good as you are.

Sort:  

Thank you @nords! It always takes me many attempts at dialing in the light painting for each of these types of shots. I tend to hold the head lamp or flashlight in my hand and constantly move it. I also tend to move the light from the left side of the camera to the right side of the camera many times throughout the exposure so I don't end up with any harsh shadows. And I tend to only light up the close foreground briefly and I spend most of the exposure time lighting up flowers/objects in the distance. I hope that helps a bit. Happy shooting!

That sounds a lot like what I have tried (the constantly moving it from left side to right side of camera and painting background more). So I think I'm on the right track, just need to practice more at night :)

Definitely on the right track! I also review the image and adjust how long I light up certain areas. I usually shoot a dozen images or so before I'm happy with it. Have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62447.99
ETH 2513.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67