Colorchallenge ThursdayGreen - Green is the Most Challenging Color in Photography

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

window-and-profoto-monolight_16503209970_o.jpg
Day 2 of the Colorchallenge: I run and hide when the color green comes across my frame

I love shooting in nature and there's a hell of a lot of green in nature. There's also a lot of green in lights, so when it comes time for photos green is the most challenging for me. Let's let this story unfold with a couple of examples of green in my images...

Shot above of Annelise, a musician/artist/model, working in LA. We did a shoot at the W Hotel in Hollywood; In this shot I was using the continuous light coming out my Profoto D1 head and also using the ambient light from the light bulbs in the room. Our naked eye adjusts for white balance in our brains, but the camera doesn't lie. When I looked at the images in post I had a nightmarish time dealing with the green coming from those lights in the room. I should have used a gel to balance the light, but I just worked with it the best I could. At the end of the day Annelise is stunning, so hit her with green all you want...rock the mistake!

emily-and-chair-2_24129254029_o.jpg

I sometimes do set photography for movies, TV and music videos. I didn't have much of a choice when it came to green in this shot because the set had green in it.

As a Pro-Photographer part of your job is just dealing what is thrown at you. I strive to be consistently good rather than perfection

But one thing about color is they work well together. I won't get into color theory here, but see how I combined another shot that had seafoam blue? This works well and I love the use of green in this fashion. I impress myself sometimes : )

_mg_0363_34342801072_o.jpg

This shot might be more blue, but it does have a hint of teal in there. But in this case there's a lot of black from the chair and the model is pale. It works. I had a blue/green gel behind the chair for the color.

_dsc6304_33148818250_o.jpg

Green works well as an accent. Splash of green against the grey...rocks!

bus-in-the-sequoia-forest_31087309656_o.jpg

This is a light painting shot taken in the desert. The green came from a LED camping light; not my favorite shade of green but it works with all the other colors in this shot. This shot is color crazy.

barrio-granada-in-cali-co_37818988266_o.jpg

Another accent of green shot. I over saturated the green and yellow; I also added a lot of contrast.

model-in-london_5861841170_o.jpg

A fashion shoot I did on location in Hyde Park, London. Notice the green in the background...nature is not my favorite place to shoot because I have a problem with green. The fix was to play with the color balance: adding purple, yellow and orange to balance out the green.

Sort:  

These are some cool photographs.

thanks one photo. What do you shoot?

Wooww..I like your picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11