Sunday Purple (Violet) - The Legend Of the Scottish Thistle

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

I hope you enjoy my photo of Scotland's national emblem, the thistle, the pride and joy of Scots everywhere!

England has the rose; Wales has the daffodil and the leek; Northern Ireland has the flax flower and the shamrock, and Scotland has the thistle!

Every schoolchild learns the legend that the thistle helped Scotland win The Battle of Largs in 1263 against invading Norsemen!

The story goes that the Norsemen took off their shoes in order to make less noise while advancing on the sleeping Scots. One unfortunate invader stepped on a thistle and his cries alerted the Scots, allowing them to go on and win the battle.

Since then the thistle has been Scotland's National Emblem.

It's a cute story, and one that we love, but is it true? No one really knows. But then, that's what makes a good legend!

130504-8764.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

To find my photography and designs on Steemit, please search on #dianemacphoto.

Sort:  

gracias! :-)

Beautiful @dmcamera!

I was thinking about posting a thistle for Sunday Purple myself but even living in Scotland as I do, I don't think I would have found a better example than your own. :)

Hope your day is going well my friend!

I think I may even have photographed this one is Florida!

Fantastic shot of it
I hadn't heard the story of the Norseman quite interesting

Well, I did go to school a loooong time ago. Maybe the kids are not taught such things anymore! I always had this vivid picture of a guy stepping on a thistle and screaming out goodness knows what! LOL!

LOL I can picture that, I went to School down under so we were taught different aspects of history local to NZ i Guess

We were taught in school that NZ is the antipode to the UK - the exact opposite location on the globe!

That could well be true but with a lot of similarities

I was recently saying to @ocrdu that this is called Donkey's Thorn in my country! :)

That's interesting. I wonder why. Thanks for stopping by!

They like to chew on them for some reason!

Learn something new every day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58925.39
ETH 2498.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48