Color Challenge - Thursday Green ~ A Bearded Dragon

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

I had to go to the pet store this week to pick up more food and treats for Phil (my guinea pig). I always like looking around at the other animals, reptiles and birds while I’m there. I was walking by a lizard tank when I saw this guy sitting up and looking cute so, of course, I had to take his photo. Turns out it is a Bearded Dragon. Bearded Dragons are omnivores so they eat insects and plants. This one is still young but he can grow up to two feet long. There was a bowl of mixed vegetables in his tank but they also like crickets and mealworms. It looked like he had a pretty good set up in his tank. I know someone who works there and they take good care of their animals which I like to hear. If an animal gets sick or comes in sick then they get medical care for it and they also keep newly arrived pets in quarantine for a period of time. Bearded Dragons are hatched from an egg and a female can lay up to fifty eggs. I couldn’t tell if this was a male or female and I was so preoccupied with looking at him that I forgot to even look at his tag so even though I’m calling him a him, I don’t really know that for a fact. I’ve never owned a reptile before but my brother and a sister had plenty when I was growing up. He had lizards and turtles and she had snakes and turtles. I always preferred cats and guinea pigs but I still like looking at other animals. I guess it would be interesting to say I have a Dragon as a pet! Right now though I have my hands pretty full with the pets I already have so I’ll stick to admiring them in a pet store or someone else’s home. What about you? Do you have a Dragon as a pet? I bet it’s a great conversation starter!!

iguanagreenok.jpg

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

I cannot keep this as a pet, it's kinda scary I think lol ;)

Thanks @puroypoi! Me neither but more because I like my pets small and furry mostly..lol!! ;)

This is strictly a Cat House.

Lol..I hadn't noticed that @manorvillemike! Just kidding! ❤ 😽 🏠 ❤

Oh yes I would like to have a dragon as a pet indeed ! I can imagine it on @barbara-orenya's desk.... =))

Thank you @luigi-the-gnome!! I can totally see you with a dragon too!! :)

You got a 1.19% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @deerjay!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87