Color Challenge: Thursday Green - camping 📷

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

This is a picture from my first camping trip with the wife and kids. We went to Yogi in the Smokies and it was a good short trip. The biggest issue we had was the trip back, as the kids were still a bit too young to make the entire journey without issues. The camping portion went better than expected, even if the wife swears she heard big foot in the middle of the night.

When I was growing up, we would take at least one camping trip each summer. A few times, we would camp out near Six Flags Mid-America or King's Island. With six kids, going to a hotel room was not an option and frankly, I think we enjoyed camping and the trips to the places we went. My dad had purchased an army surplus canvas tent. I believe it was a 12 man tent. When it sat in the back of our green Dodge Sportsman Van, it was a huge pile of canvas. We had cots that would stack up, to save more tent floor space. It truly was an experience that I doubt I could repeat today with modern tents and supplies. Something about the smell of a canvas tent is reassuring and relaxing to me. When I was a Boy Scout, at the summer camps, we would stay in large army canvas tents with steel bunk beds, but it still wasn't really the same as the family tent.

I hope to do more camping with the family, but North Cackalacky summers are hot and humid, even in the mountains. This means we have to limit our camping to fall or late spring. Either way, I look forward to our next camping trip, where ever that may be.

Camera: Canon Power Shot SX700 HS

Today's 'Color Challenge for Steemians' as presented by @kalemandra.

Today's 'Color Challenge for Steemians'

MondayRed
TuesdayOrange
WednesdayYellow
#ThursdayGreen
FridaySkyblue
SaturdayIndigo
SundayPurple


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
SteemBadges-colorchallenge-150.jpgSteemBadges-filmmaking-150.jpggardenbadge-small.pngredFish.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Sort:  

I love how you made this your color challenge. My grandfather had a huge canvas army tent. He was a member of the Canadian armed forces. The smellnis unforgettable.

My first post 11 months ago was on campfires.
https://steemit.com/campfire/@dadview/dadsview-on-campfires

I was the only upvote but it is still my favorite posts because of the memories.

Keep Steeming on

Darryl

Thanks. I figured that since I would be mixing in new and old photos, I would try to add a little story to them, in order to stand out from the other color challenge photos. Like they say, a picture is worth a 1,000 words.

i spy with my little eye something green !

PUNCH BUG! ouch

Xavier!

Beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing, look forward to seeing more from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.46
ETH 2656.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81