ColorChallenge: Tuesday Orange Bleeds into Wednesday Yellow with the Baltimore Oriole

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)
Killing two color challenges with one bird is perhaps slightly cheating, but the Baltimore (or Northern) Oriole (Icterus galbula) is both orange and yellow. Hooray! Lucky me, and I hope Steemians agree:
Canon PowerShot S3 IS, 6.0 mp, taken May 2nd, 2014:



Then with the Canon PowerShot SX520HS, 16.0 mp, late in the season before fall migration, the bird shows much orange, but the morning sky was cloudy, at a nearby lake:



Back to the old camera, and back to my back yard, and the other reason I've looked forward to sharing this post (heehee). As happens with all feeders and subsequent weather/critters, this specialized oriole feeder got pummeled, and lost its perch. Never fear, trailer park ingenuity is here! I say, it's better than before... wouldn't a bird be happier perching on real twigs than plastic ones anyway? A true original...

I believe this is an immature male, due the heavy black on the face. I've seen people with this hairstyle - I'll bet they pay a lot of money for it:




Hey, over here..!
Slurp.



What..? Oh! Hang on..



The female oriole is mostly yellow, but with much variation, and looks similar to a juvenile male:


credit: https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Baltimore_Oriole/id

Thanks, as always, Steemit,
- MH
All photos by Cubbyworks, unless otherwise indicated. Thank you.



Sort:  

Hey, I am a bot and my goal is to bring a smile
on your face with an awww gif of baby seals playing😍:
cute_baby_seals_awww
Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86