Color Challenge - Tuesday Orange: Autumn UV shoot with RachelsteemCreated with Sketch.

20160821_0271.jpg

Going Earthy with an Autumn themed near UV shoot with Rachel.

During the cooler months when I could no longer continue my creative underwater shoots and especially with new near UV LED lights to play with I decided to put a call out for an Autumn themed creative shoot and Rachel was one of the models that answered that call. I've worked with her prior in one of my underwater projects and she was easy to work with and let our creativity run a little wild.

I had gathered some Autumn leaves at a nearby park some weeks before knowing those will come in handy. I decided to paint them with UV orange paints. I started using a HVLP (high volume low pressure) spray gun to coat them but ended up diluting the paint with some water and putting them in a bag with the leaves to get coated before letting them dry.

Painting Rachel and no hmua on this project I ended up painting her myself. I started with the HVLP spray gun to do a light coat in the UV green body paint to give her skin an overall glow. I then started to texture on using texture stencils and an airbrush gun and did a few compositions. In this posted image taken near the end I diluted some UV orange bodypaint with some water in the bottle and let the liquid run down to create some dramatic textures.

The lighting I used is about 20kg large twin LED floods that put out about 600w near UV/Blue light which have been customised for my project. Its a crazy amount of power and this spectrum of light just a little above the UV band is about 4 times more efficient per watt over your standard UV range but at the cost of the UV Blue spectrum. The technique is derived from the underwater fluo diving which I found has much more use in other areas of photography. In order to get some of the desired blue back the HSL sliders in LR are used to shift the colours .

Model: Rachel Emery

Shot with Canon 5D MarkIII, 24-70mm 2.8L with Yellow Filter
1/100sec @ f4.5, ISO800

Hope you liked this creation.

chrisdavidphotobanner.png

Sort:  

whoa. very cool pic! u do nice work. :)

Amazing finish to your work @chrisdavidphoto

Nice post . I like your post


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 17.99 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @chrisdavidphoto.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chrisdavidphoto from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86