Three blokes, three rifles, way too much wind...

in #guns6 years ago

Last night I headed out into the Adelaide Hills to catch up with a couple of mates of mine. We had been planning the catch up for a week or so and were pretty keen. The plan was to do a comparison test between three rifles and judge their merits based on performance, finish, feel and a long list of other comparisons. The rifles retail at three different prices and we were keen to see if the more expensive rifle would out-perform the other's or if indeed, we saw benefit in paying more for one over the other and what benefit there may be for the additional money.

To do the comparison fairly we were using the scope and bipod on each rifle and would rotate the shooters across each rifle and compare various factory ammunitions across all three. We wanted to make the comparison as controlled as possible. All rifles were in 6.5mm Creedmoor. (The caliber)

  • Ritter and Stark SLX (Approximately $5000 - Marks rifle)
  • Tikka TacA1 (Approximately ($3300 - Pete's rifle)
  • Ruger Precision Rifle (Approximately $2300 - My rifle)


Ruger to left, Ritter and Stark in the centre and TacA1 on the right. You'll note only one wears the scope and bipod. This is the optics we were going to run across all three. (Author's photo)


This is the spot we were shooting (or planning to) for the test/comparison. (Author's photo)

Unfortunately the weather didn't come to the party last night though with winds blowing at 15mph and gusting to 23mph. Of course, we can shoot in that environment however it was not conducive to obtaining even results across each rifle system. A shot taken in 15mph wind would differ from a gust of 23mph for instance. The test was not about our shooting ability, it was about the rifle systems. We were completely bummed out. Of course we were able to compare finishes and feel across all three however our comparison test would not be complete without performance testing. We abandoned the day and will be reconvening at some stage as soon as possible to have another attempt. Instead of wasting the evening we decided to head over to a cattle farm at which I cull feral pests and see what we could find.

I have a very small group of friends and am very selective. I don't like the complications, drama and hassles that can come through interacting with other people and so I keep my friends group tight and quite closed. We all have similar hobbies and also hobbies and interests that are unique to each however one constant is that we are respectful towards each other. Walking around the property last night and sitting waiting for opportunities was a nice change to how I would usually work on the property. Most times I am by myself and focus on the job at hand: Culling feral pests. We had a great chat, had a few laughs and also had some success with the rifles. We stayed until around 8:30pm which is when this photo was taken. My iPhone doesn't do it justice but the sky looked like it was on fire. (Author's photo)

So, we're all eagerly anticipating the next opportunity to get our comparison done and when we do I'll be posting about the results and our findings.

[- Design and create your ideal life, don’t live it by default - @galenkp -]

Sort:  

What are these feral pests.. pigs?

Sounds like fun, too bad the weather been shoddy, wouldve been cool to see some more on firing those sick rifles!

Not pigs, not down near Adelaide anyway. We do that elsewhere. I cull deer, kangaroos, foxes, hares and rabbits on this property.

You butcher hem too? Like for meat or hides or whatever?

We did last night. Culled 3 kangaroos. Took their legs for one of my mate's dogs. (He has a couple of german Shepard show dogs). Got a total of 35kg (77lbs) of meat. At the Adelaide Central Market you'd pay $20 per kilo for it. We often take the back straps from the roos also but not last night. We usually take the deer as well. None of us particularly like eating kangaroo but deer venison on the other hand is quite a different matter.

Yeah... wow. That is awesome. And a pretty penny worth..

Don't think I even had the 'Roo before but certainly have had my fair share of deer meat!

Kangaroo is ok, I guess, just not my taste. I’d rather eat a salad to be honest! It’s got to be cooked quite rare. Venison is pretty good though, as you know. I’m not sure you’d even be able to get roo up your way although it’s exported all over the world for human consumption. You’ll have to google it.

Yea Im sure there are special places round here with the Roo on the "barbie" haha

Ill take your word for it tho and stick with what I know.

Pretty rad that you and I both have RPR in 6.5 on other sides of the planet!

Yeah, I knew you have one. I’m really happy with mine and have shot it to good effect. I’ve changed the trigger out for a Timney trigger but other wise it’s stock. It keeps up with the more expensive guns generally. It’s only out past 1500m where I’ve been a little more inconsistent but that could be me and not the rifle.

Ahhh, bummer. Wanted to know the results of that test myself. Still a great post though!

We’ll get it done and I’ll post about it.

Must be nice to have some land of your own. I've got a Sig Sauer AR. Nice rifle. Nice scope on the Ritter. Fish in the pond?

There are fish in the pond actually. We didn’t do any fishing that day but have on other days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17