You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: National Park Paklenica, Part I (Climbing Chronicles #3)

in #climbing6 years ago

Hey man! I saw you upvoted my post and that brought me here! I'm glad it did ...

Paklenica is also on my check list but not as a climber only as hiker. I am thinking about it, but my fear of heights is something i still haven't successfully lose. I wanted to climb since i was a kid. Maybe someday?

About Nin ... it's absolutely amazing. Spent my summer holidays there couple of years back actually ... its almost 10 years back.

The third funny thing is ... that i was in Zadar and drove past Nin only 5 days before the flooding.

Looking forward to your hiking/climbing posts! Take care and wish you all the best in 2018. Let me know if you come to Slovenia :)

Sort:  

Thank you.

Paklenica is perfect for hiking as well. You can find a lot of information about it here: https://www.np-paklenica.hr/en/. When you walked through the canyon at the entrance the national park opens up into a broader valley with many possible hiking tours and some huts to stay for the night.

I think Paklenica is also a good place to confront yourself with hights, as you are in the canyon and can look up the steep walls. When standing there you can think about climbing up and confront yourself with your fears without actually being in any danger.

Well, what can I say more about Nin, it's simply beautiful.

If I'm planning a trip to Slovenia I let you know! And it's definitively on my bucket list!!! :-)

Thank you for the tip! For now i am trying to get used to the heights on some Via Ferrata hikes. Starting with easier ones and will try to forward to some harder. I must admit, that i am facing heights much easier when I'm buckled up to the steel cable. The narrow paths without anything secure to hold to are the problem :) So i guess i could try some climbing.

When i was a kid i dreamed about the indoor climbing. But back than there wasn't this option in my town. Thankfully it is now, so that kids can learn this from young age!

Outside of Velika Paklenica in the backcountry of National Park Paklenica, there is a Via Ferrata playground at Vaganac. With a suspension bridge and some interesting climbing. I will tell you more about it in part three. ;-)

Yes, today the possibilities to climb indoors have changed so much and are so easily accessible... It's so nice. For me, it's a five-minute walk to the gym. It couldn't be better, could it?!

I didn't know about the via ferrata there. Looking forward to part 3!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17