Travelling France with a van - Mai 2018// Day 5 – Tuesday – "Rando ferrata de la Source de la Moselle" and enjoying life!

in #climbing6 years ago (edited)

Click here for the German Version

I usually don't write in english, so please forgive my faults! But I'd like to share my travel experiences with more people :)

Untitled-1.jpg
climbing or not climbing, that's the question

Depending on the weather

I always make a lot of plan while the sun is shining over a longer period. And I absolutely forget about the weather being bad sometimes! It was always like that for me, even before I passed 1,5 years in turkey.
So I had planed to climb on the last day of our trip. Last day, last chance. No more options.

So the raindrops fell down on my campervan in the early morning and I wondered wheter my friend could still sleep as she's not used to sleeping in a van in general). But she could. We stayed in bed longer than the other days.

20180529_120258.jpg
Unfortunately I didn't photograph her absolutely refusing to step out of my van, but this pic kind of shows what this spanish dog might think about the rain

I still had hope to go climbing by looking at the weather app. Lunchtime was the time it had to have stop raining, otherwide it would be too much stressful to go climbing. I was so lucky! It stopped raining at about 12.30 and I didnt loose time to get my stuff packed. Julia planned to relax this day and go for a little walk with her dog.

Rando Ferrata de la Moselle

P1090276.JPG
Parking for the via ferrata

P1090281.JPG
Infodesk via ferrata

With my bike I quickly arrived at the via ferrata (in France called "rando ferrata") near the source of the river "Mosel" which passes through Germany, too. A few minutes later I already arrived at the beginning of the via ferrata, put my climbing stuff on and sweared not to forget again my climbing-gloves at the entrance.

P1090284.JPG
This way

Untitled-2.jpg
Here we start

Of course, the stone was wet becouse of the rain. This could be more difficult and I thought about not to climb...but only for a short second. And really, my climbing shoes do a very good job! No slipping at all. Gorgeous!

Most of the time this via ferrata was very easy and it was not absolutely necessary to hang on the hooks. But of course I did, with a look at the steep precipice at the other side of the little way. Somethimes it got a little touth, but not too much. Near the beginnung, there was a wooden beam and the rope was hanging loose a bit, so this was not a big help. I had to trust in my feet only. But I made it, it was not too deep if I'd fall. But falling is not an option (as I often read in the internet)!

Untitled-1.jpg
Pretty easy, not too deep

P1090306.JPG
"Is this a climbing centre?!"

Next danger I faced were ticks! One on my left and one on my right arm! They were still crawling, so I could put them away easily. I also checked my legs, everything okay. Now my mind was on alarm and would have liked to check my body every few seconds for ticks. But no: Keep focused! Move on!

Challenge or: Mind, shut up!

Short time later my mind didn't care at all about the ticks - it was in survival mode and totally paralyzed my body!
Is this really a proper survival strategy, dear mind?! I'm not that sure....
It came to this situation because I chose the difficult way as the way splitted up - of course! Needed more challenge... I should get it! :D

Untitled-3.jpg
Variante assez difficile (quite difficult)

At the „Fer à cheval“ the cliff was steeper as steep and very deep. But the rock and the metal steps gave me enough security in combination with my shoes. Then the big challenge waited for me: Another wooden beam. Only 4 meters, not 6, like the first one. 4 metes, come on! Well, no. It was still very deep underneath and I couldn't hold on the rope that was not really tight. So I tried to do it step by step.. and refused... and refused... to the place where I still could have one finger at the rock. (Rocks, I love you!!!! <3 ).
Luckily, there was no one else to see little Lisa struggling here and freakily shouting at her own mind to shut up. This couldn't be too difficult. Do it! Come on!
It worked! Somehow I passed this spot. And was happy being with the rocks again! Cause turning around was not a option.

Untitled-4.jpg
Can you see it...

Funny that my mind gets louder while I'm not hanging at the cliff but in/ on human made stuff... In general, it's not too easy for me to quiet my mind. No matter what situation: happy, sad... everything is always going on up there. The "best" state of mind I arrive at (if im not not thinking at all, but this I can't recognize, otherwise I would start thinking again) is my mind singing songs. Songs, whose texts absolute fit to the situation!
This time it was mostly the line „Halt dich fest“ out of the song „Du träumst wie ich“ of the singer Curse (Min. 2:35).

After some more, now a lot more easy passages I arrived at the end and enjoyed the great view. I thought about continuing the upper part of the via ferrata, but after a look at the prospectus, I decided "no", because there seemed to be more spots like my challenging one. Besides it was enough adrenaline for me and I was looking for lying at the pool in the sun!
And: you always need a reason to come back! ;)

P1090300.JPG
Great view

While climbing I noticed that I really forgot again my climbing gloves! Inbelievable! Will I ever think of wearing it in time?
So after getting down I went again to the starting point for claiming my gloves!

Untitled-5.jpg
On the way back

My personal via ferrata statistics

#3 at all
#2 alone
#1 in France

Sunbathing at the pool

Julia was still walking with Dana but we were in contact. So she put my bikini and towel on the cycle rack of my van because I left her the keys of the van. So, quickly to the pool and first taking a little shower. It was so goood!

Ticks!

I wasn't thinking about the ticks any more and I don't know how but: I spotted two of them on my calf. They were already biting, I couldn't take them away! Noooo!! Panic coming up. But keep cool. As always I had my "always with me pocket" with me and so I could get rid of this little ticks using my tweezers. It was easy to get them ou.t Much more easy that the thick ones that I get out of my cat sometimes - they are really very hard to remove.
Later, Julia had to have a look at me again but found nothing.

On the way home

We enjoyed the sun at the pool until it made big shadows, took a shower and at about 20h we were ready to leave.
I was so happy, again and again since coming on this camping area, that we were allowed to stay as long as we wanted after the overnight. We changed plans and decided not to go to germany this evening, but to stay in France overnight. So we could buy best french stuff the next day at the supermarket and bakery!

On the way to our nice overnight-spot at the river Rhein were so many roundabouts... I got sick of it and Dana, too. But we made it.

It was late so we directly went to sleep.


Click here for Day 1 (only german)

Click here for Day 2 (only german)

Click here for Day 3 (only german)

Click [here for Day 4][https://steemit.com/deutsch/@caravanci/frankreichtour-pfingsten-2018-mit-dem-kastenwagen-tag-4-montag-sur-la-route-vers-bussang-ankunft-auf-einem-wunderschoenen) (only german)

Sort:  

Congratulations @caravanci! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow ... I would like to do this route ... It looks beautifully frightening hehehe... Greetings from Venezuela... Here we have some good routes too... I'll follow you ;-)

Thanks for your feedback!
Yeah, beautifully frightening, that's it! :D
Routes for climbing? Venezuela sounds great, hope to be there one day! :)

Sure... You are welcome... In my blog I must share more of my treekings and climbings... There are some of them... And this is my (impossible) dream :-/

Wow! Great pictures! That's just... wow! What an incredible feeling this must be, to reach the top!! I hope for you that you'll make it one day!! :)

Well ... It will be a miracle ... Even though Salto Angel is in Venezuela, we would need too many dollars or euros to travel there... Maybe with steemit hehehehe

Hah glad you've rewritten it :) To answer ur question from german version:

e.g I personally would for sure read ur posts more often, had they been in English...but it german, I\m just not enjoying it that much cuz I sometimes don't understand everything...or even if I do, then I have to concentrate totally and then Steemit evening scrolling is not evening relax but rather evening German lecture :D

And in general, you live in a van. That's something 99% of people dreamed of doing and maybe 0.1% of them tried it...So I feel there's really a biiiig audience which would be interested in your posts...with writing in German, you limit yourself only on small group of Europeans who can read it....it's just my opinion though..It's also important to be backed by some community here on steemit - e.g in my case I'm getting most of upvotes from native Slovak and Czech people although they are maybe just 10% of my followers...soo yeah, it's up to you :)) But I'll for sure enjoy ur posts in English more.

Heeey, thanks a lot for your long response!! :D
Now I understand better. Thank you so much for this input!
It was also good for me, getting my brain into action for writing english. I also think about translating it also into french, now! :D

And concerning the followers: Do you know about steemspectacles?
https://steemit.com/steemit/@rebeccaontheroof/steemspectacles-steemspectacles
It's explained in this (germany, sorry! ) article. By clicking on www.steemspectacles.com/@unsername you can see how many of your followers are not active - so this number hasn't a big value. But it's interesting to have a look at steemspectacles!

Have you read the article of

Oh didn't know about it..cool stuff...but if I knew how many of my followers are ghosts, I wouldnt click haha :D

enjoy traveling in France greetings

Thank you!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97