A pollen in his throat

in #classical-music5 years ago

65214823_681706145607078_631868772474421248_n.jpg

Today for one of the graduation ceremonies I was supposed to play the accompaniment of Gaudeamus Igitur academic anthem while my colleague baritone sang it. We did it yesterday and it went fine.

The start of the ceremony was at 10 AM and before Gaudeamus I had to play a processional. The famous "Pomp and Circumstance" by Elgar. At 9:58 AM my colleague still wasn't there. I wrote him a message asking, "Where are you?" He replied, "Be there in 2 minutes". I wrote half jokingly, "I will play very slowly".

Then 10 AM came and he wasn't here. The ceremony coordinator gave me a sign and I started to play the processional while looking at the organ balcony staircase all the time. When 8 measures where left, I thought to myself that this is getting serious. I wondered if I could sing Gaudeamus instead of him.

Then the last cadence came and I slowed down considerably and at the moment I played the last chord my colleague ran into the balcony.

Phew! He was here ready to sing. I made a short rest to change registration and gave the first chord. Then we started to perform. After the first two phrases he suddenly fell silent and I obviously kept playing because that's what you do in public.

He was out of breath from all that running. I think there was some hysterical laughter involved too.

Then little by little he caught his breath and by the 3rd verse everything was OK.

When we finished he sat down all embarrassed and said this was the first time it happened to him. I started to console him telling him various horror stories from my musical career.

I told him how I missed one graduation ceremony when practicing in the church while the ceremony was supposed to be in another hall. Or how one soprano sang her part one octave lower. Or how @laputis and I were walking in the woods when I received a phone call from the church asking where I was because my group of tourists were waiting for me to play organ recital for them. Or how a member of the university forgot to bring diplomas during Honorary Doctorate celebration and I played the organ for 5 or 8 minutes to fill the silence...

Then my colleague started joking about what kind of excuse he would give if somebody asked him what happened. I told him he should say, "you get what you pay for" meaning they paid him for the 3rd verse only. Then he thought about saying "I thought I was supposed to sing on the the beginning and then entire congregation should join in. That's what do in Italy, you know... Since nobody sang, I continued to sing by myself."

He settled with a very plausible excuse - while coming to the church a pollen had fallen into his throat and he needed to get a drink to clear his throat...

I bet he'll show up on time for the next ceremony...

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

This made me to remember my graduation ceremony when I was passing out of school

Yes and I remembered mine as well.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Ha Ha Ha, I loved reading this ... you have learned by great experience that “THE SHOW MUST GO ON!” A great performer knows how to improvise when something goes wrong on stage.
I have watched my two children perform in musicals on stage, with lead parts where they sang solos, and completely forgot the words to some verses in their songs. They both improvised and repeated the words they could remember again. The audience never caught on but it was terrifying to them, the trick is not to show it. It was very nice of you to console this man by your funny horror stories that you can laugh about now, we have all got them. I really enjoyed this post, it made me lol HA HA!

Thank you! The things we laugh about now were not funny at all when they happened. And the opposite is true - in a year he will remember it with a smile.

Ha Ha... the Sunday before last I wore tightly fitted black pants to church, and when I got back home and changed into more casual clothes, I could see that somehow I had ripped three rather large holes in the butt of them, and I’m sure my very colorful undies stood out like a sore thumb... I was mortified... and I remembered that Rick and I sat in the very front rows of the pews! I can laugh now, but it wasn’t funny when I found out HA HA❣️

That's certainly funny in the hindsight. Everyone has those stories, I'm sure...

I am sure you helped ease the poor guy's embarrassment with your own performance horror stories! Did he have a good reason for being late?

He was delayed in his other job across town.

That would do it! Poor guy.

You got a 31.79% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @organduo! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69667.40
ETH 3513.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70