Erster Verlust (Original Vocal Composition)

in #classical-music5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I am back! I took part in the school musical over the last few weeks, and as a result, had very little time to write articles (especially considering that the Steem websites are blocked at school). However, during this period, I did continue to write music, and I am excited to share one of the pieces which I finished with you.

Text

Here is Goethe's text as well as a translation:

First Loss
Ah, who will bring back those beautiful days,
those days of first love?
Ah, who will bring back but one hour
of that sweet time?
Alone I nurture my wound
and, forever renewing my lament,
mourn my lost happiness.
Ah, who will bring back those fair days,
that sweet time?

Erster Verlust
Ach, wer bringt die schönen Tage,
Jene Tage der ersten Liebe,
Ach, wer bringt nur eine Stunde
Jener holden Zeit zurück!
Einsam nähr’ ich meine Wunde,
Und mit stets erneuter Klage
Traur’ ich ums verlorne Glück,
Ach, wer bringt die schönen Tage,
Jene holde Zeit zurück












The Piece

Singing Version

Before I describe what's going on in the piece, here it is. I had to sing it in f minor rather than g minor (because I can't hit the high g as well as I'd like to):

Piano Version

I made a recording of myself playing it in g minor so that you would know what it should sound like in its intended key:

Why?

There are several points which I would like to make known. First of all, I utilized a text by Goethe which I discovered several years back when I played a piece inspired by it in Schumann's Album für die Jugend. This text spoke to me several weeks ago because I began to feel a longing for "the good ole days (when Steem was 8 dollars :)" due to some events which occurred in my life. First of all, I thought (at the time) that my cat was going to pass away quite soon because her condition worsened. I actually began work in setting the Pie Jesu text as well, so maybe one of these days I will finish and post that. Thankfully, we eventually realized that my cat didn't need to be put down, though she is terminal. We have been able to keep her alive by treating her. Here's a picture I got with her recently. However, at the time, the idea that she was dying made me very bitter by itself, and on top of that, I had a lot to do for musical, and, as a result, my grades dropped drastically. Don't get me wrong, musical was an immense amount of fun, and I enjoyed every minute of it. But, outside of musical, things could have been better.

During this period, I attempted to write music, but nothing I wrote was good enough to satisfy my desire to write (writing music to fit an emotional extreme is not always easy and usually just makes you feel worse). One night, after improvising ideas out and hating them, I took a walk. I remembered the time that my piano teacher read me this poem (in both German and English). I then had several ideas as to how I would set it. I immediately went home and began to work on this piece.

Imagery

I placed several musical concepts in this piece which you may find interesting. I oriented the A section of the piece around a bass line which consists of a descending chromatic scale from the tonic to the dominant (down a perfect 4th). In baroque times, this bass line was a symbol of lament. I discovered this bass line in two works by Bach which I became familiar with this year. The first of which was his g minor invention (no 11), and the second of which was Crucifixus from his mass in b minor (about the Crucifixion of Christ). Both of these pieces are oriented around this lamenting bass line, and I figured that the picture it creates is quite similar to that which Goethe creates in this poem. However, the main harmonic line which I utilized actually consists of a majority of major chords (4 major chords [if you count the German sixth as major which I do] and 1 minor chord [which is the tonic and occurs twice in the phrase]). Within this whole piece, I am trying to paint a picture very much like I feel the poem paints. It is not a happy or sad picture, but rather a picture of longing. I feel like the bass line which gives the image of lament, combined with this use of major chords provides this feeling.

In the b section, I used the opposite of this bass line. Instead of descending chromatically by a perfect 4th, I ascended chromatically by a perfect fourth. I don't think this represents anything when it comes to imagery, I just thought it would be cool to attempt.

Lastly, in the final section, I utilized an accelerated version of the lamenting bass line and sequenced it to get back to g minor and finally cadence. I suppose this faster version helps to achieve a more dramatic build up to the climax (after the half cadence on glück).

Another piece of imagery I utilized in this piece was the exclusion of a third in the final chord. I decided to leave the chord neither major nor minor, but rather incomplete. I felt this represented the idea behind this poem. The narrator is not extremely happy or sad. He exists in an incomplete state, longing for the days when he felt completion.
The other reason why I did this is that I joked with my theory teacher about ending on V (leaving it unresolved to the point that anyone listening would completely hate their life) and he told me I should think about doing things like ending on V more often in my music. Obviously, I don't want to be sloppy and not resolve a leading tone, so I decided to just exclude the third.

Harmonics

Overall, the harmonics of this piece are pretty simple, though I did have to be creative at times. There is one instance of parallel fifths, being at measure 18. I am okay with this because (1) it is between the voice and bass, so it is not super noticeable, and (2) this is going from a German 6th to and V. Even composers such as Haydn did this, so it is not horribly out of character.

Liebe

When I was playing Debussy's Girl with Flaxen Hair, Mr. Barone and I had an interesting conversation about how composers depict love in music. Mr. Barone talked about a master class he went to in which the speaker (the wife of a famous French composer, who happened to be an accomplished pianist herself), discussed love in music. She made the point that composers will often tonicize IV when they wish to depict feelings of love. In Girl with Flaxen Hair, Debussy tonicized IV which is why Mr. Barone and I were discussing it. We also discussed how Brahms would often tonicize IV for the word liebe (love in German). It just so happens that the word liebe in this piece falls on a IV after its secondary dominant. I will not say that this was intentional, though I tried to phrase it so this would happen, because I wrote the harmony before I read the words.I thought that was just a cool little concept to discuss though.

Conclusion

Thanks for reading this! I enjoyed writing this piece, and I hope you enjoyed listening to it! I apologize for not posting here as much as I should. Please remember that feedback is always appreciated! Have a nice night!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As well as my composer birthday posts (Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.

Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Classical_Music_smaller.png

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto
Community Logo by ivan.atman
Radio logo by plushzilla

Follow this account for classical music themed competitions, resteems from our contributors and general news and support from our community at #classical-music. Our Curation trail is over at https://steemauto.com/

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Hi cmp2020,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oooh, the immortal Goethe, the Shakespeare of Germany, as under-treasured as the German Illiad (The Nibelungenlied) - you got me with Goethe! And you up the ante with Schumann--also not loved enough, imo. Love this: I began to feel a longing for "the good ole days (when Steem was 8 dollars :)" LOL! Your lyrics are lovely in German as well as English. And I love your cat photo. How sad, even though she "didn't need to be put down, she is terminal" - I wish you many good hours together! To this day I miss our old ginger tom, gone since 2015, but immortalized in my heart. You also mention Brahms (an all-time favorite of mine) and Debussy. Love your taste in music and your ability to compose your own!

This is really beautiful.

Congratulations on your great comeback. This is a lovely post. It reaches different audiences who might or might not have a direct interest in classical music.
As an amateur student of history of music, I appreciate the references and details to the technical aspects of your composition and the allusions to composers as references.
The opening melody reminded me of one of Chopin's nocturnes
I know from Goethe The Sorrows of Young Werther, so I can understand how deeply those nostalgic lines can get.
I am sorry about your cat. I hope you enjoy whatever time left she may have. As an animal lover I can relate to the pain of losing a beloved pet.

Great compositions. Hate that you had to get to a dark/sad place to compose them, but some times that's where the most creative things come from. Happy to hear you will have some more time with your cat.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12-18 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)

So true: "you had to get to a dark/sad place to compose them, but some times that's where the most creative things come from" -- our son went through a phase of creating artwork with photo collages, most of them with a vibrant, fun-loving, silly vibe, and when he quit, I asked why. Well, he was working through a broken heart at the time. (The Korean cellist he loved had moved back to Korea, and he missed her.) Once he was "over" it, he no longer created that kind of artwork. Dang. Almost had me wishing he was forlorn again!

Who will bring back those fair days. Glad your cat is still with you. Is it cancer or just old age. Anyways I hope she stays for awhile

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! She has irreversible kidney disease. Thanks again!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Lovely composition in there. I really enjoyed the tunes in there and your write up made the whole thing a lite. I really had fun around your blog and hope to see more great fun from your end soon

Posted using Partiko Android

You are humbly welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a great profound post in the ocean of mediocrity. Although I didn't understand much of the music lingo and references, I can sense that this work was done with much devotion and talent.

I will have to watch for your posts carefully next time.

Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17