Analysis of Mozart's "Lacrymosa" -- from his Requiem in d minor (@rgkmb-unofficial fundraiser)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #classical-music6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! Today, I decided to make an analysis of Mozart's Lacrymosa after seeing this YouTube video. Though the guy's reaction did not really impress me, the idea behind the video got me thinking. What is it about this piece that gives me chills every time I listen to it? I thought that it could be because I know that it was the last piece that Mozart every wrote, or it could be a result of the beautiful harmonic scheme that the piece has. Because of this, I decided to make an analysis of the piece in order to fully understand it. So, here is my analysis:

Analysis

Form

I really don't think this piece has a strict form. I will admit that I wasn't thinking form as I analyzed it today though. Overall, I think there are two sections, an A section and a B section. The A section seems starts in d minor and eventually modulates to F major. The B section begins where the A section ends (in F major), and it modulates back to d minor repeating the A section to end the piece. (Edit as of January 27th) After thinking about this form for a few months and talking to a friend, my best summarization of it would probably be ternary form (A-B-A). I lean more towards ternary form because the B section does not go straight into the components of the A section it seems like the B section ends and then the A section returns. At first I was thinking this was kind of rounded binary, but now I feel it is ternary.

Things I Like

I am personally quite fond of the bitter sweet feeling that this piece has. It does not sound like something lovely and peaceful, but, at the same time, it doesn't sound like something horrid and agitated. Mozart really was ingenious in his use of these elements in order to achieve that kind of sound.

I am also quite fond of the harmonic ideas presented in this piece. He utilizes chromatic motion in this that I don't typically think of when I think of Mozart.

Potential Mistake

I did notice a potential mistake in measure 11. The basses have an A-flat which I believe to be functioning as a G-sharp. The chord is functioning as a German Augmented 6th, but written differently. I think Mozart might have intentionally written this A-flat in order to illustrate the sequence going on in the bass part. However, I am quite sure it should - in a perfect world - be a G-sharp.

Text

Here is the Latin text, as well as its translation:

Lacrimosa dies illa
Qua resurget ex favilla
Judicandus homo reus.
Huic ergo parce, Deus:
Pie Jesu Domine,
Dona eis requiem. Amen.

Full of tears will be that day
When from the ashes shall arise
The guilty man to be judged;
Therefore spare him, O God,
Merciful Lord Jesus,
Grant them eternal rest. Amen. (Taken from Wikipedia)

Here is the video with my notation for the harmonic structure:

Materials Used

Public Domain Performance by The Wiener Philharmonic (Found on IMSLP)
Public Domain Arrangement (Sheet Music) by Maurizio Machella (Found on Free-scores.com)

Previous Analyses

Closing

Thanks for reading/watching this! Make sure to check out and support the @rgkmb-unofficial page. 50 percent of the rewards from this post will be going to support them (if I set it up correctly on Steempeak). Anyway, hopefully I will see you next time!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As well as my composer birthday posts (Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.


The @rgkmb-unofficial account is an experimental account that is operated by Steve Palmer (@remlaps). The account's purpose is to demonstrate the viability of a fund-raising model that is based on use of the Steem block chain in the community. The account's goal for 2018 is to raise enough money to send one student on the Rustin Golden Knight Marching Band's trip from Pennsylvania to Florida in December for performances in the Citrus Parade and in Disney. For more information, see our introductory post: Introducing Steem to the Rustin Golden Knights Marching Band


Thank you for your time and attention.

Sort:  

No expert here, but this is in 12/8 time, right? This gives it a swaying motion to the grieving - without the dramatic theme this has some similarities to a barcarolle. This is a collective grief, rather than a personal one - sounds to me, anyway.

The a-flat looks fine to me! G-sharp would seems to be very odd to me as the middle of the bar is the dissonant arrival and the 4th beat a resolution, not a leading harmony. I'm travelling at the moment, I will come back later to double check, but the a flat sounds more logical to me! Anyway, I think this is Sussmayer and not Mozart anyway!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Amazing post! Thank you!

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67