Tired of Netflix? Why not try MUBI?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cinema7 years ago (edited)

I used to have Netflix last year, but after a couple of month I hit Netflix peak... If you have had Netflix, I'm sure you are familiar with that concept which symptoms involve:

  • feeling pressured to watch every single new show without actually liking it;
  • watching stuff without actually wanting to watch, but just because it's there;
  • being unable to remember anything of the dozen of flicks you half-watched while on Whatsapp;
  • getting weird recommandations which feel way off the mark;
  • starting to have hallucinations where Adam Sandler appears in EVERY SINGLE MOVIE;
  • a general apathy about the whole concept leaving you unfulfilled and addicted.

So, I just cancelled it. But being too much a cinephile to go teetotal in my movie diet, I found out about MUBI and here I can hear you mumble...

Well, think of MUBI as the Netflix of the cinephile, the real cinephile, the one who knows who Chris Marker is, what is the Dogma 95, and who does not flinch at the idea to watch a black and while italian existentialist movie. 

The distribution concept is however different because MUBI releases one movie a day. Only one. And you have 30 days to watch it. So, at any given time, you have 30 movies to watch whatever happens, no more no less... Yes, I know, of those 30 movies, I bet that almost half would not even beep on your radar usually, and that's what makes it more like a cinema than Netflix will ever be: the list is curated and you can't cheat. If you want to see something here it is. and it's for your own good! 

And I don't know about you, but I realized it was a great solution to the "all you can binge" buffet that is Netflix, which leaves you shellshocked after a while and unable to remember anything you have watched the previous week.

So, let's recapitulate:

  • MUBI provides a highly curated selection of movies, not the latest trash
  • You can watch the movies from your computer, your mobile, your TV or your tablet.
  • It does not track your watching habits to feed them into a behavioral algorithm which will end up in a big-brother database.
  • It is also a community, where you can share your thoughts, rather than just giving a meaningless star to a movie.
  • It will broaden your horizon of cinephile beyond anything you can imagine.

So, why not give it a try, and for once in a very long time, why not sit down and ENJOY A MOVIE - a real one?

More importantly, it shows movies you will NEVER have the chance to see on Netflix or in your local cinema.

Try it for 7 days for free at this address:

              https://mubi.com/fr/t/web/global/P0N1eocF 

Sort:  

Great Movie..!

OK. Now you can read the article.

Great news for movie lovers...will try it

:-) Glad to know! Just watched my first movie today: Raoul Ruiz's THAT DAY. Quite an oddity!

I had not heard of this. I end up spending way more time trying to find something on netflix than actually watching what I may have found. And, I seldom complete an entire show / movie. Always too much steemit to be done

Yes, Netflix is like a big black hole which suck us in without mercy haha ^^ It's exactly why you hear the zen mantra that sometimes " less is more " !

I really like MUBI. However, the problem I have with it is that the idea that I have for a classic movie is a lot different sometimes than what they have in mind. Sometimes I end up with a catalog of movies I've never heard of and that I'm just not really enjoying. Now Filmstruck on the other hand has a great catalog of movies that are all classics that are existentialist and every other genre you can think of and much better than Netflix.

If you go to Filmstruck and look at the front page you'll see five movies and those five movies tell the true story of what's on there.

Eraserhead
Blood Simple
Kwaidan
chungking Express
Hamlet

Now don't get me wrong I really like MUBI however I just feel like the selection sometimes is lacking.

Good post.

Wow, thanks for the tip! I'm gonna check Filmstruck too :) Glad to see another cinephile always on the lookout for great stuff!

I suppos a italian version of Mubi do not exist =( Aaargh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34