My last Christmas Post, after a true story!

in #christmas6 years ago (edited)

Hereby I would like to write a last Christmas post, at least for this year.

When I was a little boy, how old I exactly was, unfortunately I do not remember, maybe 4 or 5 years, I kept my afternoon nap in the living room on the couch.

It was Christmas time and already decorated everything.

Suddenly I woke up, dazzled by brightness and frightened by the heat. It took me a moment to realize what was happening. Then I saw the Advent wreath, which was on fire up to the ceiling!

I ran to the kitchen, where my parents just started to cook. I said, "Dad, can you come?"

Then my father: "Yes, I'll come, I just have to put on the pasta water, for the spaghetti."

"Ah, good," I said and went back into the living room to watch the Advent wreath. 1 minute later I returned to the kitchen: "Dad, are you coming?"

"I'll be right over," my dad said. I went back to the living room. In the meantime, the carpet was starting to catch fire. That's when I thought to myself that it's getting time.

It had again passed about 30 seconds. I ran back to the kitchen and said to my dad, "Dad, come on, it's really important!"

"What is it?" My dad asked.

"The Advent wreath is burning!" I said.

"What, the Christmas wreath is burning? Do you mean the candles?" My dad asked.

Then I said, "No, not the candles, the wreath is burning, and so is the carpet!"

"What?", My father shouted and ran into the living room, saw the fire, ran back into the kitchen, took the meanwhile warm water for the spaghetti and poured it over the burning Advent wreath. Luckily the Advent wreath went out, only the carpet burned on.

I jumped on the small flames on the edge of the rug to extinguish them and my dad took a blanket off the couch and fortunately suffocated the fire successfully.

Of course, a fire extinguisher was not in the house back then. Since then already.

After the fire was finally extinguished, we assessed the damage. The entire living room was sooty, the table was burned and the carpet was completely burned down in one half.

Here we narrowly escaped a misfortune, yet we could celebrate a merry Christmas, only without Advent wreath and without carpet, but with a new table.

That was then the last Advent wreath for several years and even today it is only lit under constant supervision.

That was my last "Christmas" story for this year.

I hope you had a nice Christmas time, even if this is not over yet and I wish you a happy, healthy and successful New Year 2018!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @easyridernews to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 69802.09
ETH 3490.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.83