When you mix your religions

in #christianity6 years ago

Image

It seems to me there is an unacknowledged religion being widely followed in America. It's actually a combination of a couple of very popular religions.

Just as African slaves in the American south may have combined native African religion with Catholicism to create Louisiana Voodoo, all over America many people are combining Christianity with statism and practicing the hybrid religion which results.

It's not really a pure form of either religion, but a horrifying chimera with features taken from both.

I know many of the adherents personally, and see many more of them online and in the media. They are the ones praying for "the troops", with Holy Pole Quilt on display in their churches, urging respect for the police, and excusing any manner of tyranny with Romans 13.

My first instinct is to call this hybrid religion "Patriotic Voodoo", but maybe it should just be shortened to Poodoo.

.

Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Sort:  

Everyone has that family member that leaves their tv on Fox news or CNN all day. The most amazing thing to me is when they ask a question, they equate that to a good argument. For example, "Who would build the roads?" This isn't an argument because you don't know how civil engineering will work without the State being involved.

And it's not as if the State builds the roads now. They just pay construction crews with stolen money, and those crews build the roads.

My response is usually, "People will build the roads, and I bet we can figure out how to pay for it without pointing guns at people filling up their gas tank."

And those of us who have some idea of how engineering actually is done are called "ignorant and short-sighted" if not worse for daring to suggest that we don't need an extra layer of mandatory unaccountable bureaucracy interfering in everything.

I'm a civil designer, and even with qualifications, I still get push back. It is amazing.

I am an architectural and mechanical draftsman by training, so my situation is similar.

Evolution of religion

it's like the evolution of religions hehe

Poodoo Psalm 23:

The State is my shepherd; I shall not want. It maketh me to lie down in national parks: it leadeth me beside the unpolluted waters. It restoreth my soul: it leadeth me in the paths of legality for its name's sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for government art with me; thy police and thy army they comfort me. They preparest a table before me through welfare and food stamps: They anointest my mind with education; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the State for ever.

Poodoo....... excellent find lol

This is awesome work from you have a great day sir.

This mixed religion is no longer pure, we should return to the holy book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65637.68
ETH 2661.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81