Thoughts on prayer 3/4

in #christian6 years ago

Source

Sometimes we treat God like a vending machine. We want to do A and then automatically get B as a response. Now let me ask you this:

  • Can you remember your favourite vending machine?
  • Do you always remember to thank the vending machine for what you receive from it?
  • After an absence, do you miss the vending machine or do you miss what you get from it?

Source

I think it is important to realise how important it is to God to engage with you. Nothing in what He has done to reveal Himself to you, suggests that He is pursuing a casual relationship with you.

The kind of relationship that results from the easy predictability of pressing buttons will never suffice. Consider this Scripture carefully. I'm giving it to you in two translations.

But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted!
Joh 15:7 NLT

But if you make yourselves at home with me and my words are at home in you, you can be sure that whatever you ask will be listened to and acted upon.
Joh 15:7 MSG

Do you have any idea how much God is looking forward to your next prayer?

@reonlouw




Sort:  

I have been watching the way you use different versions of the bible to drive home your point. I love it, am getting to like this, am addicted to the KJV.
Joh 15:7 MSG, really simplified things.

@reonlouw it's again a very good blog about prayer. I am again waiting for 4th and last part. really awesome buddy

@reonlouw again an amazing post sir. I like reading your posts. I have also read 1st two parts of it.

Prayer is an intimate communication with God, it is not just about asking him, it is much more, in prayer He is adored, our love for Him is expressed, us praises Him.

This is something I struggle with too. I have to remind myself every now & then that my relationship with good isn't about "me."

Thanks for tge reminder.

You got a 4.04% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @reonlouw!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 3.03% upvote!
I was summoned by @reonlouw. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 16.60% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @reonlouw!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58925.39
ETH 2498.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48