Timid Versus Aggressive

in #christian7 years ago (edited)

letlive824c1.jpg

When they bring you before the synagogues and the rulers and the authorities, do not be anxious how or what you are to answer or what you are to say, for the Holy Spirit will teach you in that very hour what you ought to say.

[Luke 12:11-12]




It can be especially difficult to practice assertiveness when we need to correct others. How do we avoid the extremes of ignorance or downplaying the offense, and of over reacting to it?

St. Alphonsus Liguori advises ''Even when correcting faults, superiors (and parents, teachers, employers, and anyone else with authority) should be kind. It is one thing to reprove forcefully, and another to rebuke harshly. Sometimes one must deliver a firm admonishment when the fault is serious, and especially if it be repeated after the subordinate's attention has been called to it. But let us always be aware of harsh and angry rebukes; the person who chides with anger does more harm than good. On some rare occasion it may seem necessary to say a harsh word, to make the offender realize the gravity of the fault, still we should always leave the offender with a gentle expression and a few kind words. And if the person being corrected becomes disturbed, the reproval must be put off until his anger subsides, or else we will only make things worse''



Usefull Reading :

Psalm 23:4 ,Isaiah 12:2;2, Timothy 4:1-2

Reflection :

Father of gentleness and strength,
help me to find the proper balance
in all my dealings with the world
and in all my relations with other people.
Sometimes I am headstrong and stubborn;
other times I am fearful and submissive.
I overreact to some things,
others I fail to take seriously.
I value my faith and my membership
in your family,
but I dont always show it.
Give me wisdom and stength,
courage and prudence,
boldness and compassion,
so that I may proclaim Your truth to a world
that often follows bright, shining lies.
Let me know Your will, and help me to follow it-
humbly, confidently, and lovingly-
so that my life will witness to Your truth and
Your kingdom may break into our world.
Blessed be Your name forever and ever.

Amen.






Bibliography

St. Alphonsus Liguori, The practice of the love of Jesus Christ.

St. Frances de Sales, An introduction to the Devout Life.

Harry A. Olson, Power Strategies of Jesus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86