Good Morning Devotion :-) ❤️

You Have the Right

Read Philippians 2:1-30

3Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. 4Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too. 5You must have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had. 6Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. 7Instead, he gave up his divine privileges; he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being. When he appeared in human form, 8he humbled himself in obedience to God and died a criminal’s death on a cross. 9Therefore, God elevated him to the place of highest honor and gave him the name above all other names, 10that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.Philippians 2:3-11

Perhaps no other topic today—except for salvation—is more obscured by falsehood than that of rights. Just about everyone thinks that he or she is entitled to a long list of rights not guaranteed by the Bible or the Constitution. For instance, some people believe they have the right to do illegal drugs. Others think they have the right to play their stereos loud any hour of the night. Some even believe they have the right to break the law and get away with it.

Clearly, the demand for rights has gotten out of hand in America. But Paul has an antidote for Christians caught up in or dismayed by a rights-obsessed society. His advice is to imitate Christ, who sacrificed his rights as God’s own Son to save his people. As you read, consider how you can become more like Christ, our humble Lord and Savior.

Jesus had the right to be worshiped, obeyed, and honored as God. Yet he did not lay claim to that right. Instead he lowered himself, gave up his rights, and died a humiliating death for our sins. He had more rights than anyone will ever have, and he gave them all up to save his people (Philippians 2:5-11).

All kinds of evil deeds have been committed in the name of rights. Selfish attitudes, such as “I deserve it,” “It’s my right,” and “You have no right to stop me,” have been used to justify cheating, abortion, materialism, and countless other sins.

Those who follow Christ must not only refuse to selfishly uphold their rights but avoid having selfish attitudes as well. Instead, believers should allow God to develop an attitude of humility within them.

(Source: from ms. @catietan's devotional materials)

Indeed, a timely reminder and note to self for me. Praise God for my faithful and generous friend, ms. @catietan for this early morning devotion. "All kinds of evil deeds have been committed in the name of rights. Selfish attitudes, such as “I deserve it,” “It’s my right,” and “You have no right to stop me,” have been used to justify cheating, abortion, materialism, and countless other sins." I too have this mind set way back, I think 2 years ago. "I deserve this" or "It's my right" these are the screams of my carnal self when I was deeply dipped and strangled by heavy sin. I was blinded by my rights and or privilege and as a result, many innocent beings were affected. I know it wasn't my wildest intention to drag these people with me but the damage has been done. The effect is long-term and up to this writing I am still undergoing the painful restoration process.

I praise and thank God for my good friends, church mates, and my family for their faithfulness and prayers because God convicted me. It was then that I was able to see how drastic my response was. Although I felt good inside because finally justice prevailed but God in His most amazing ways somehow tells me to let Him fight for my battle. So I let Him. Praise God I was able to forgive and let go. LET GO & LET GOD

Now, I'm happy and blessed to have finally talked to that person after 2 long years and I praise God for His grace and mercy that I was able to tell him that I've forgiven him. To God be the glory!

Good Sunday morning everyone & God bless us all :-)❤️

Still using onscreen keyboard. :-)

Please check this link and join our prayer warriors here in steemit https://steemit.com/christian-trail/@wilx/christians-on-steemit-let-us-follow-and-support-each-other-pt-7-join-the-christian-trail

I am @sashley a.k.a. shirleynpenalosa, a recipient of God's love, mercy and grace. :-)❤️

Have a blessed and cooler month of November 2018 everyone :-)❤️

I am forever grateful to God every day of my life for giving me everything that I need and praise Him all the more for not giving me everything I want. To God be all the honor, praise and glory ❤️ :-)


(thank you sis @sunnylife)

@surpassinggoogle is such a generous person and has a very big heart for all of us here. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.


(Photo credits: from sir @surpassinggoogle's post footer)

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

@paradise-found is a wonderful person, a very humble and generous encourager, let us also support him by voting and typing in "gratefulvibes" at the search box. Please do check out @paradise-found's posts and you're welcome to join the @gratefulvibes family curation trail. :-)❤️


(Photo credits: sis @sunnylife)

Other good witnesses to recommend:

@yabapmatt
@teamsteem
@jerrybanfield
@hr1
@acidyo
@blocktrades
@curie
@beanz
@arcange
@yehey

They need our support

Follow us on #gratefulvibes discord channel (positive and uplifting attitude)
https://discord.gg/7bvvJG


(credits to @bloghound)


(credits to @jhunbaniqued)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28