Don’t AnswersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

rude.jpeg

Mark 11:28-33 (KJV)
And say unto him, By what authority doest thou these things? and who gave thee this authority to do these things?
And Jesus answered and said unto them, I will also ask of you one question, and answer me, and I will tell you by what authority I do these things.
The baptism of John, was it from heaven, or of men? answer me.
And they reasoned with themselves, saying, If we shall say, From heaven; he will say, Why then did ye not believe him?
But if we shall say, Of men; they feared the people: for all men counted John, that he was a prophet indeed.
And they answered and said unto Jesus, We cannot tell. And Jesus answering saith unto them, Neither do I tell you by what authority I do these things.

There are some conversations it’s just not worth having. Jesus established by His question that He and the chief priests and scribes could have no meaningful conversation concerning the question they asked of Him. Does it seem rude that He answered them with a question and conditioned further conversation upon their answer? Does it bristle your hair that, when they chose not to answer Him, He chose not to answer them?

The lesson is simple and, I think, two-fold
We should not feel obligated to carry on conversations about fables and foolish questions.
It’s not reasonable to carry on endless conversations with little profit. It is better to offend one because you won’t speak with them than to offend the same because you have said an inappropriate thing.

There is no basis for conversation unless both parties understand each other
I understand that a principle in debate is that the one who defines the terms wins the debate. If conversing parties disagree on the definition of terms or on the basis of the conversation, the conversation is fruitless. If there is no agreement set forth for instance, on authority- the subject between Jesus and these people – then the best course of action is to refuse their course of action. (Don’t answer their question.)

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word.
Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4500 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If you have been blessed by this blog, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.
My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie
My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

Mark 11:28-33 (KJV) Don’t Answer

Photos from pexels.com
Marvin Feb 5 2019 HBBC cropped.jpg

Please consider helping our church’s teen department by signing up for cash back shopping at http://www.dubli.com/M04VB. This program has three levels of participation, the first being completely free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06