You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Chinese Nightmare: From Patient to PLA Prisoner to Indentured Laborer

in #china5 years ago

Thank you for writing this @patriamreminisci. Very, very sorry to read the details of what you are going through right now. Nightmare indeed!

I believe it is very important for Americans (and everyone else really ...) to understand the implications of all you have to say. About the reality of what is happening in China. Today. Right now!

I do wonder about your apparent choice to identify yourself (unless intentionally incorrect ...) with your name on your account. While we like to talk, here on the Steem blockchain, about freedom from censorship and the like, still this information could fall into the wrong hands. Which would lead to what consequence for you there in China? I do admire your courage!!

Definitely hoping to hear more from you, about ultimately how it is you are able to escape from the situation in which you find yourself!

Upvoted, followed, and resteemed. Doing my small part to get your story out, which I hope will be followed by many others of my fellow Steemians ...


P.S. As I wrote about in "the Challenge" section of this post, how do we "find" each other in here?! So ... FYI, I found your post, after trying to catch up a bit on the posts of @newageinv, by reading this post. In which I read a little bit about @skramatters, so clicked on their account. And in their blog, found they had resteemed your post here ...

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply, and for the resteem. Here's hoping the publicity I'm seeking doesn't come around to bite me in the proverbial @$$. It's great to hear feedback.

As for the name, it's intentionally incorrect though it's a bit of a moot point. If the censors in China actually considered my article a threat, it would not be hard to look up who is the only foreign patient admitted to the 306th recently and find me. The obvious option was to not name the hospital, but I have another problem: the less information I provide, the easier it is for one of China's "Fifty Cent Party" to claim the story is a "Western fabrication to defame China," which is the standard catch-all description for any article that dares speak ill of China.

Essentially, the only thing that has kept me from already ending up in front of a firing squad is that China's censors are typically too busy going after media outlets in Mandarin, which are far more dangerous to them since that's the language the rank and file can understand. Media in English is a secondary priority because anything that can't be understood by the majority of their population is less dangerous to them. Also, Steemit has not been on their radar until recently, though that may change soon as I discovered I now need a VPN to access Steemit (which was not the case prior to the NPPCC conference in March), which means it has been added to the vast sea of blocked websites in China.

Great to hear from you @patriamreminisci. Replying and resteeming is the least I or anyone else here on the Steem blockchain can do, so my pleasure to do my small part to "get the word out."

"Also, Steemit has not been on their radar until recently, though that may change soon as I discovered I now need a VPN to access Steemit (which was not the case prior to the NPPCC conference in March), which means it has been added to the vast sea of blocked websites in China."

[emphasis added mine]

This does not surprise me in the least. While not my area of focus, I think there must be an amazing number of "expat" Chinese on the Steem blockchain. For example, I have personally "talked" with one of them - @crypto.talk, the great founder of the @partiko mobile phone app. While I don't know for certain, that app alone has presumably played a key role in the number of Chinese people who are actively engaged on the Steem blockchain.

While I don't have anything like your stresses and reasons for doing so, I have taken the preventative step of using a VPN. I use NordVPN and have found it to be quite good (here's a review ...), at least as far as I understand the technology. Out of curiosity, what to you use that is accessible to you there? (Please don't answer, if it may potentially put you at risk ...)

Gotta get back to the pressing issue I have of my own, at the moment. Getting my tax accounting done, for my decision to invest in the "cryptosphere," before the U.S. deadline ...

Thanks for your reply and hope to hear more, as your time and opportunity permit.


P.S. You may wish to come read this reply @skramatters.

Awesome @roleerob I'm really glad my resteeming this seemed to have snowballed. Organic steem is the best steem !

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, @skramatters, thank you for resteeming this post. You may wish to show how it came to your attention.

Not ideal, from my perspective, what we all experience on the Steem blockchain, to gain even a little recognition. But ... Better than nothing! 😏

Hopefully it will snowball! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I simply happen to follow the original poster. I resteemed it after being the first to upvote or comment and due to having some increased exposure lately it was resteemed by a large account and went from a penny to 16+ usd overnight.

Any steemian with a pulse will surely upvote this..

All the best

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, @skramatters ...

"Any steemian with a pulse will surely upvote this.."

... we agree that should be the case!

Thank you for your role in getting the "snowball rolling!" 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59234.78
ETH 2525.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47