Let's go viral: Give your heart away for X-Mas

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

SOOOOO... I have thought at length what to do for the Advent time on Steemit. Making another calendar would have been lame somehow, so I took a step back and thought about what was the initial meaning of this time.

Advent is a time to slow down, to think about the meaning of life and of SELF purpose.

By chance I heard a podcast about the difficulty in our local university hospital. One of the doctors that were interviewed said with some desolation that despite the enormous progress in techniques and knowledge it is less probable to be saved if you need a surrogate organ than about 20 years ago. The main reason for that (at least in Germany) is that only a few people filled out the form for organ donation.
Alone in Würzburg, where I live, there are waiting 25 people for a new heart. 22 probably won't make it, because a lack of donor hearts.
Not even speaking about lungs, kidneys and other stuff...

It seems in the US almost 1 in 2 have such an organ donor card, in Germany only 1 in 4 has filled out the form. Interestingly no matter where you ask: more than 80 % think positively about being an organ donor.

Conclusion: Most are simply too lazy to fill out a form.

So I started with myself. I checked where to get a donor card, filled it out and put it in my wallet. Simple... 3 min of my time.

RESULT: more purpose for myself, even after my death.

I can tell you... somehow this feels really good!
girl-2934257_1920.jpggive your heart away, if you don't need it anymore

Now it's your turn.

Find out where and how you can fill out a form in your country, DO IT and post a pic (with your steemit name and a date) below in the comments. (If you already are, you can do the same, to show you are in already), no need of selfdoxxing ;-)

I will give away 100% of the rewards of this post. Everyone participating will get his share of the liquid rewards. The rest will be donated here: https://www.organspende-info.de/
OFC you can also decline your share (just mention it in your submission) , your part will then also be donated.
(e.g. 10 participants 50$ rewards, everyone gets 2,50 and 25 will donated to the organ donor institute from my fiat money... not taken out of the steem economy)

This is the link to the german form. It will be generated immediately as pdf.
https://www.organspende-info.de/organspendeausweis/online-ausfuellen

This is the link to the US form. I didn't check it out, try for yourself
https://www.organdonor.gov/register.html

How to help further:

  • Feel free to share more links of other countries forms, I will edit them into this post!
  • share this to your social media : resteem, retwitter, share on FB

Now show the world that steemians have a ton of good hearts!

balloon-1046658_1920.jpg

yours

@pollux.one

Sort:  

steemians have a brave and a kind heart :)

this is like making your life a legacy forever i liked this idea

Liked the idea very much and it motivates me to do it

i will try to find out the form lets see if i could find it or not

This is worth resteeming and more than that you are doing great work !

Yes...1000% agree with you my dear friend @pollux.one
We always try donate something...for others...
Great idea...I'm respect your ideas.
Cheers~~~

thats true meaningful of our life goal.

giphy-downsized (9).gif
I think you must be happy man pollux.one

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Please check this Breaking News!

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Hi. This is very nice thing to do. I had a heart issues this year. I hope it will be ok. But i wonder who can donate their hearts? How healthy it must be?

Not speaking about black market organ trafficking ... or illegal kidney sales while you are still alive ;-)
The donor card only allows doctors to use your organs for others, when you die.

On the other hand... there are many possibilities to share a heart. This one is mine...

Yes. I know. I just don't know if person with some heart issues can donate. Probably not

there is more to a body than a heart (liver, kidney, lungs, skin, blood and much more), but it sounded much nicer to call it "give your heart away" than "give your kidney for kids" or "spend your liver for good" or "give a blow with your lung" ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78