My Favorite Christmas-The Little Curly Haired Girl with Brown Eyes

in #charity5 years ago (edited)

I am 58 years old and this one Christmas stands out as the best memory for a Christmas ever.

When I was about 10, I remember getting up in the morning before my parents. Going down to the living room and seeing this very tall gift with my name on it, leaning against the wall. I could tell by the shape, exactly what it was. Where I grew up there were many hills, farm pastures and lots of snow in the winter. At 10, this was the best Christmas ever! The day I received a Toboggan!

C34F8C54-28A9-48EB-8D8D-0D18C70C3F11.jpeg
Photo from stock images fotalia.com

But it was later in life when I experienced “THE BEST CHRISTMAS EVER!”

The Little Curly Haired Girl with Brown Eyes

I remember she asked me, “Can I keep it?”

After years of getting expensive presents and outgiving last year. Bigger Christmas tree and more extravagant gifts. Even buying with credit and having to pay for something throughout the year. Most gifts after you have them for awhile loose their luster and don’t really fulfill any need in our lives. Our kids pile away expensive toys, that someday are put in a yard sale or taken to the Salvation Army.

This is my story of the “Best Christmas Ever”

One year I was not really happy during the Christmas time. I heard of a family of 5 that were living in a house with dirt floors, no insulation and this winter was very cold. A grandmother had her grandchildren there as her daughter was bound by drug addiction and had left all of her kids with her elderly mother. This grandmom barely had anything to live by, now had all of these kids. These precious and beautiful kids.

The thought crossed my mind,

“Why not give them our Christmas?”

We decided as a family to spend all of the money we would normally spend on ourselves and instead spend it on this family. We did our homework and found out the names, ages, clothing size and the needs of each child in the household.

Another two families joined in with us and we had the most marvelous time.

First the shopping.

Then we got together and sat in our living room and wrapped gifts. Beautiful Christmas wrapping paper, bows, ribbons and name tags on each gift.

We also shopped and purchased at least 6 months worth of food. Plus a turkey, pies, potatoes and all of the fixings to make a really special and delicious Christmas meal.

In the end we had two deliveries to this family. One very large pickup load of food and one super sized load of gifts.

When we went to visit this family and deliver these gifts, the grandmother cried the entire time. We discovered a Mennonite group had already been there and had insulated the house and put wooden floors as the house had only dirt floors. After we delivered the food, we came with the next load with the gifts.

Then it happened!

The children were very young, ages 5 to 9. We got the kids warm clothing as they had none. Warm blankets and jackets and gloves for their little hands. We bought a very nice bible for the Grandmom and some clothing also.

As we carried the gifts into the house, the children were helping me carry in the gifts. She picked up one gift and the name tag opened and she saw her own name on the tag.

“To Clara from Jesus”

She gasped, she cooed, her eyes got glassy and a big smile lit up her beautiful face.

“It has my name on it!”
“Do I get to keep it?”

This moment. I had realized that this was the best Christmas ever in my life. Better than the day I got a Toboggan as a child! A far greater day is when we learn the truth, “It is more blessed to give than to receive”

I don’t have a photo of Clara, this two room house, but in my mind and heart something changed that day.

64B73613-6BB4-4BC8-9F9D-FD5144C772A1.jpeg

Wherever we live there are people like this family. When I lived in the USA, there were people living under most every bridge. Hot chocolate, a smile, a hug, some gloves or a warm hat. We used to give away thermal underwear.

“It is more blessed to give than receive”

Thanks for reading!
Daddy William

B4EF9A29-07DB-4402-A2DD-2CFF1C6E7D2B.jpeg

All proceeds from this account will be used to benefit the people of the Philippines and Eastern Asian Countries.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ronafe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85