30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Twenty Eight: Sundays

IMG_1351.jpg

Growing up, Sunday morning meant church. That was non-negotiable. Usually Sunday school before. Impatiently waiting for minister to wrap it up so everyone could make it home to watch the Cowboys game. Steaks on the grill usually after game. My mom never cooked dinner on Sunday nights. Everyone was on their own. My dad always had a big bowl of popcorn in an old walnut wood bowl. No doubt bought at a roadside stop sometime in Missouri. I learned college apartment level survival skills. Warming up soup. Pizza Quick Sauce.

When we were a young married couple, we liked to get the Sunday paper and lounge around condo. Bagels and lox were popular. Sometimes it was more of lunch. Baguette and the great spinach dip from the deli at Martin Wine Shop in Uptown. Sometimes by the pool in the buildings courtyard.

With kids, Sundays were usually spent at a hockey rink somewhere. Teams loved to stack practices on the weekends. Or out of town for games. Lots of long car rides. Good together with boys. Although late night and early morning practices trained our boys that car time was nap time.

Now I’m back to watching football most Sunday afternoons. Often I spend a little time on the business in the morning. Try to be done in time for the Oakland game. My wife has a routine to prepare for the week. Good day for planning and paperwork. Not exciting but relaxing day usually.

What are your Sundays like?

This is my entry into #challenge30days by @dragosroua

Original photo above was taken in Dublin, California on November 10, 2018.

Sort:  

Reading posts like this. ;)

LOL I learned similar survival skills when I was still at college :)

my other vital college survival skill was finding a restaurant on the edge of campus that didn't check the balance on your credit card. haha that was back in the days when they did the physical carbon copy of your credit card

Mine was letting someone else sign the attendance sheet, so that it seemed I was following the lessons on the campus :)

My Sundays revolve around Steem and football!

Uh oh I am revealed as a closet Cowboys fan ;)

Everyone should have a favorite team!

the same beauty of the fall!

IMG_9182.jpg

such a tiny forest fairy holding up a small leaf ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05