Distracted WritingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge307 years ago (edited)

Distractions

Even a 2.8 second distraction can be devastating. Studies have found that while your working on a task the briefest of distractions can make it harder to regain focus, even greatly increase the number of mistakes that we make. I find myself prone to finding distractions. Every time I sit down and start working on a project no matter what the topic is.

I am finding that every little noise, can be extremely disruptive to my concentration. The more I want to work on a project from start to finish the harder it is. Someone talking in the background, a song on the radio, another webpage that just loaded.

Today as I sat down to work on a post for the 30 day challenge I realized it was the wrong timing. I sat down and was looking at my list of ideas as my wife decided it was time to start cooking diner, that also meant she would be needing my help. It seems to me that my timing is off, yesterday was no better. So instead I decided I needed to see what I could do to help improve the time I can spend focusing on creating a post.

First thing I decided I needed to look for ideas or way that I could implement in order to be able to concentrate and complete the posts I set out to work on. Here are some of the things I found that have helped others, I plan to use these ideas going forward.

Things to Help Stop Distractions

  1. Set aside time where you can be free of distractions. Remember hide the phone, set it on silent or even turn it off for a short period of time. Do the same with the other things that can be distracting, such as social media alerts, news alerts, emails and depending on what

  1. Turn of the unneeded noises. This is one problem I have I keep the TV on and I seem to get distracted by things that are on. I find that at times even someone simply talking to themselves inside the same room I'm in causes me to be easily distracted. This really might help, just simply turning off the TV, I leave it on hoping it helps drown out the outside noises.

  2. Pick an amount of time to set aside that can be used to write, pick a small amount of time such as 30 minutes. While focused in the distraction free time spend your time writing and take a beak when done.

  3. Find the tasks that are most important to get done for the day and get to them first. Make a plan of how to accomplish them. Even if you can only focus on completing one single task at first.

Slower is much better than giving up early because you took on too much, too early.

Keep in mind some goals will take time to finish, that being said look for smaller steps. For example the 30 day writing challenge is to simply write a post everyday, there is no length, word count or content type required this is a small goal. As I push past the 30 days making a post each new day my goal may change and if it does it most likely will increase maybe from here I will make a goal of 2 posts per day, or a minimum word length per post.

Conclusion

I am going to set some time aside to work on writing everyday. I may start off with something simple and short such as 20 minutes and during that time I will do my part of turning off the TV, setting aside my cell phone etc. Right now my goal is simple, write one simple post a day for the remainder of this challenge.

I thank you for reading this far, if you enjoyed this post you can upvote, follow and resteem this post.

Image Source 1, 2, 3
Source 1, 2, 3, 4

Badges
Thanks to SteemVerify.com and @elyaque

Follow @smysullivan
Thanks to @papa-pepper for the last gif.

Sort:  

Superb post and I agree with the small steps and very cool shiny badges !
Followed!

Thank you, these are some steps I am trying to work on. For the badges @elyaque made several if you look at his blog and they are free to use. I modified mine in paint, and SteemVerify said it was ok do add it in line like this as long as your verified.

Thanks for the post.

I have gone another direction with this. I have trained myself to the point that I have become inured to distraction. I have tailored my own method based on exposure therapy. If I find something distracting, I try to increase the specific aspect that is distracting and force myself to focus. For instance, you can find recordings of number stations. These are just radio frequencies with human voice reading seemingly random numbers. Then I turn on the sound, crank the volume until it is good and distracting, then focus on doing complex math problems, while holding the numbers in my head, not showing my work on the paper. This is a very useful exercise to train focus, and the ability to re-focus after being distracted. There are many different ways to design challenges for focus training. This can be as simple as playing memory with a deck of cards, or as complicated as you can stand.

That sounds like a great way to learn to refocus after or while being distracted. I might have to try it being some small distraction throughs me way off and takes time to refocus. Thank you for the great tip.

I also hate that we are 2-3 hours apart time zone wise because you are often busy at nite on here and I cannot get to your stuff til the next day which bums me out. LOL

This post did really well for you my brother! I was super pleased with this!!!

Great post man! RS for you for sure, it is a very practical blog post.


I've noticed in my messages with you that you are finding this a challenge, I was actually happy you covered this and discussed it and how you plan to address things.

What you are discussing is called Time Blocking.

If you search that topic, you will find ideas that are concrete to help you -- things that are established to support you for your needs.

For ex. daily there are specific things I need to deal with for my health or remind me to time block.

I set a timer on the microwave (ha, it is the only thing I have used that appliance for in years LOL) -- and when that timer goes off, I know my time block for that task is UP and I move on. Unless I HAVE to keep doing something.


You could try putting on your headphones and iPod device and blocking out things too. What you are trying to create by leaving the TV on is classed as white noise. -- blocking things out.

Maybe try classical or baroque music. There are no words to focus on, or latch onto.

I'd be interested in 1-2 weeks or a month on a post by you to see how you have adapted or what you have used to do it as you try things.

I really enjoy your posts. They have really improved in terms of your writing style, picture and graphics work, etc.

I also like your style because you never know what is coming in the next sentence or paragraph sometimes. You knit things together well and then hit us with something we did not see coming and you do it regularly.

I have been struggling with finding time to write, and distractions are a problem. Though the TV has not been my major distraction; my young granddaughter and elderly father (who both live with me) have!
Regardless, thank you for your post; you are an inspiration!

Thank you, I understand the issues you face. A few years back my wife and I took care of my grandmother before she died. Now we live with my wife's sister and she has a 5 year old daughter. Those together I would only imagine would be extra hard, each alone have been hard enough.

You have to get your stuff on here or your most struggled with tasks done when the little one is out for the day, or sleeping. Work around those 2 things and your struggles and frustrations will be reduced for sure. Commit to using that time for your hardest things to do and then drop it when that time ends.

Time Blocking.

This doesn't show a suggestion for a distracting girlfriend :P

This is such a timely post, what with the New Year and all. I've found myself being completely distracted of late and I'm feeling very unproductive. I like that you gave solution ideas rather than just telling us the negativity of distraction.

Well thank you, I did that more cause I needed the ideas for myself, as you can tell. Dope curating with the news on right now. I'm not doing good yet, well I will get to my post in a little bit today, so time to consider how to practice these steps for my new post today.

Great post, although I don't subscribe to labels I have no doubt if I were growing up in this age I would have been classified as a.d.d. Distractions are my downfall! I love it when people give pointers on getting around every day problems :)

haha, never been diagnosed but I'm fairly certain I got the adhd, and other problems, not to mention I procrastinate that is partly why I post so late at night

Oh yeah, procrastination is a dear friend, ha!

I'm easily distracted too. Everytime....EVERY time I sit down to read, my dog has to go out. ?? And she wants to stay out to check for her friend next door. So I go back and sit and start to read figuring I'll have time but no.....as soon as I sit and open my book she wants in. Puts me in such a crank mood.
You've made some excellent points to help keep yourself undistracted and on task.

Thank you, it was hard writing being I was still distracted. Tomorrow will be a better day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02