Mia's Memories - Micro-fiction

in #challenge6 years ago

Dog on a boat
Image credit: Unsplash image by LennartHeim

Mia's Memories


We take the boat out from Cook’s Bay, as we always have. But it’s just Mia in the bow. No Ranger.

The wind whips the tears off my cheeks.

I look over at Mike. “Does she know he was sick? Will she ever forgive us?”

“Yes. But she won’t forget.”



Thank you, as always, for reading.

You will see this theme of pets, love and loss appear in my fiction writing on occasion. Animals bring us such joy. Their companionship, adoring faces, and unconditional love can cause us to have such profoundly complex feelings for these little beings. We can give them great lives, and all the love and attention they need, but we cannot completely protect them. They are with us for only a time.

The dog in the picture reminds me of one of my dogs, long gone. I will tell you that if you are a dog lover as I am, you probably should not read the little anecdote that follows, as it did not end well. I once left a lengthy relationship, and had to leave behind my Akida, named Miso, because I was moving from our shared home to an apartment. Miso was an escape artist. She would jump the backyard fence and run off and do bad things. And so, without talking to me, my ex had her put down. That was over two decades ago, and I am still trying to find a way to forgive.

I wrote this story for the weekly 50-word short story challenge. This week's prompt is "forgive." It is a powerful word, and there are some amazing stories coming out of this challenge. We all have people to forgive, and we have all caused others pain, so the opportunity is certainly wide open.

Animated signature


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/08/18/mias-memories-micro-fiction/

Sort:  

This is a sad story. Very sad.
I'm not sure I could forgive something like that. When it comes of pets, I tend to become overprotective. And putting down a dog just because she was "breaking the law"...is too much.
But a great story, nevertheless. 🙂

Thank you so much for reading and sharing your thoughts, @roxy-cat. I have always felt there would have been other options to pursue. But I was robbed of the opportunity to have that discussion.

Just missed the boat on upvoting this. Too bad. But I did like it very much. Our animals, our little furry familiars. What would we do without then? As for forgiving that long ago act of aggression toward you, that taking of a sweet trusting life, I hope you will find your way to it one day.

Thanks hon!

As for forgiving that long ago act of aggression toward you, that taking of a sweet trusting life, I hope you will find your way to it one day.

Yes, yes, yes. It's odd. I am one of the most forgiving, non-grudge-holding people I know. But some misdeeds worm their way so darn deep. I'm actively working on it. :-)

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

very sad...😥

Thanks for reading and commiserating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91