The Man with Red Eyes

in #censorship5 years ago (edited)

Mind Control and the Internet

Yesterday I was listening to a podcast discussing the unfortunate situation of some Catholic School kids who were targeted for destruction by the mainstream media. Hearing how they chanted their school chants to drown out the sound of those cussing and yelling insults at them, I was reminded of a scene from the book A Wrinkle in Time.

Cover artwork, A Wrinkle In Time

The way I remembered it, the children were in the presence of a powerful being. To avoid its mind control, they held hands and recited the Pledge of Alleigance to stop its voice from speaking in their heads. I wondered if I was remembering correctly, and if anyone else had made the connection. I can't imagine the people pushing this narrative would like the scene very much. I decided to Google it, to see.

Knowing this book was recently made into a movie, I went with a highly specific search:

scene from a wrinkle in time book kids say pledge of allegiance to stop mind control

Nothing. A bunch of stuff about the movie. A few pieces about how the Pledge is bad.

A few pages in and no mention of a scene about mind control, and no direct references to the book. Understandable, I guess. The movie was pretty recent and got a lot of press. Also, I'm not even sure it was the Pledge. I revised the search.

scene from a wrinkle in Time book kids avoid mind control by reciting pledge

Similar results. Nothing. I started questioning my memory. I was only ten when I read the book. Maybe that isn't even the right book.

But just in case, I tried Duck Duck Go. I figured lack of advertising/corporate interests might give me a better chance of results related to the book appearing first.

Well, look what I found!

Not only did I remember the scene pretty closely, it is far more relevant to our current predicament than I imagined.

Chapter 7: The Man With Red Eyes details the children's encounter with CENTRAL Central Intelligence, a nightmare of dystopian conformity in which the children are told "don't fight, it will go much easier for you," are served synthetic food that tastes like sand (but would taste good, if only they'd open their minds to IT), and at several points struggle so hard to shut out the pulsing rhythm of conformity that they recite nursery rhymes, the Gettysburg address, irrational square roots, and...
The Declaration of Independence.

How can the same search term yield such different results? And why?

This is a popular children's book that was turned into a movie. There must be plenty of references to it. Google must be smart enough to recognize that a search including the title, "book" and "mind control" was looking for this scene. Obviously, it is smart enough. Duck Duck Go was.

I am very disturbed by this result. It feels as though Google was trying to erase a part of my childhood. It was a very poignant scene that I recalled from nearly three decades ago, and I had started to question my own memory.

This Shit Has Gone Too Far.

Of course, now that I have located and read the chapter summary linked above, it now comes up on a Google search, too. Perhaps, if you've already clicked the link, it will come up for you, too. The algorithms might float lots of B.S. to the top, but they still favor results that you've already viewed once. For now.

Read the damn book. Get your kids to read it. Get real, hard copies of this and other books that you might want later, if we find we can no longer trust our "information superhighway". Ponder the words of that Declaration of Independence the kids used as a mental shield, and those of the Bill of Rights. Ask why so few people are learning about this.

And for God's sake:

Let's Be the Blockchain that Decentralizes the Internet!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm no longer using google for searches. Duck duck go all the way :)

Me neither, now. If they are no longer about showing me the results most relevant to my search, there is no reason to use their service.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm in alt-health, and all natural remedies are buried there now!

Crazy stuff to be sure.
My husband was looking into the whole Covington High School scandal and found very quickly that all was not as it seemed. These kids were scapegoats for something bigger. Like/loathe Catholic or natives, it doesn't matter. The actual event was very different than what the media decided to make of it - and I highly doubt you'll hear any of the reporters apologize. (I'm glad you heard some of the other side.)

Totally, it doesn't matter which side people like better: if you're choosing a side, then the people with an agenda to cause anger and division have already won. It's a false choice.

At this point, I wouldn't believe an apology from the media if they offered one (they won't). Even if I believed it was just overzealous reporting without getting the full story (I don't), they've dug that hole much deeper by doubling down once people questioned them. They care not one bit if people get hurt because of their irresponsible and wreckless "reporting".

Posted using Partiko Android

I hadn't thought about the fact that once you choose a side you've lost.
I just sort of ignored the issue until I had enough information to listen to both sides.
My normal tactic. Huge uproars are usually worth ignoring - at first, anyway.

Very true!

Posted using Partiko Android

Keep doing what you are doing. You are one of the awakened one's.

"Welcome to the Matrix".

Thanks, and thanks for the resteem! I keep thinking about that movie, it's time to watch it again. I feel like I'm at the part where they find out this hasn't just been going on for 200 years, it has happened again and again and again.

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember the wrinkle in time I don't specifically remember all that happened in it but I am not surprised that the truth is being suppressed once again... You bring back memories. When I was a kid Wrinkle in Time was one of my favorite books. I think I was even too young to understand why.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I hardly remember the book either. For some reason that scene always stood out for me, though. I kinda want to read it again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 28.65% upvote from us for your 2194 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LauraDee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89