Why I won't be getting out of bed today

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

For two days our new kittens hid under the shed. For the next three days they took over the homestead. Yesterday they moved into the van, and we fell asleep with them nestled between our pillows last night.
We didn't need more cuddling obstacles (we already sleep with two or three dogs) but oh good grief they're cute!
This morning they romped around on top of me and I contemplated staying in bed all day.


What this video doesn't show is the two dogs snuggled with me under the covers.

We got these kittens because mice and rats live in the van and the shed, pooping in our stuff, scurrying around in the walls and ceiling while we're trying to sleep...the horse and chicken farm next door recently dug a pond where the roosters had been so a mass migration of rodents came to us.
These kittens are too small for ratting, but see the black one catch a fly in the second video?! (The flies are another pest we share with the neighbors.)
None of our dogs are any good at hunting. We think Max has been inviting the mice over for dinner, actually.
A few minutes after I shot the second video the black kitten puked up a stomach- full of dog food (which they prefer to their kitten food), complete with a long worm writhing in it. As gray kitten started eating the puke I hollered for Phillip's help and we got the worm out. Time for a vet visit for all five.
Oh and then one of us had stepped in someone's poop and smeared it right outside the van and Hannah jumped into bed with it on her feet and now Booker has some on his feet too and walked it onto me so the five good reasons to stay in bed all day have sent me out to clean a few times already this morning.

Eh, who am I kidding, we're all back in bed on this drizzling morning. I have a cup of coffee and a good book. And these kittens, so tiny I really can't feel their weight on my lap, are too heavy to escape.

Sort:  

Congratulations @annalisa144! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85