London - Big Ben, St. Paul's Cathedral

in #cathedral6 years ago

What would a tour of London be with out at least trying to get in to Big Ben? Well, I learned that you can get a tour but a British Citizen has to arrange a tour for you, at least that's what I was told. And, you have to arrange it at least 6 months in advance. So, I took a couple pictures from the outside and moved on. The bell is actually part of the Elizabeth Tower and has been around since 1859, quite a feat for a clock that size to still be running.

big ben 11-1-2010 3-21-00 PM.jpg
Next stop was sort of by accident. I noticed a cylindrical structure with what looked like a fire on the peak. Turns out it is a monument to the London fire of 1866 and is 202 feet high, called The Monument. I walked up to try and enter and was told if I paid a fee I could walk to the top and if I made it the entire way I would be presented with a certificate verifying I had made the climb. So, after climbing the 345 steps, shooting some photos of London and making the trip back down I received my certificate and filed it away with all the other souvenirs I’ve accumulated.

My wanderings next brought me to Covington Gardens and Apple Market so I stopped by for a cup of coffee and looked around for a bit. It’s in Croydon and a short walk to a subway called Norbury Raliway Station. The place is filled with places to eat, shop, a hotel, places for events and the surrounding area is filled with tourists and activities.

Something else I discovered is that London has these public toilets you drop some change into and the door opens. It looks like a pod of some sort and I think it self cleans when the door is closed, not sure but that is what it appeared to do. Good way to keep people from wandering in to buildings just to take a bathroom break.

st paul's cathedral  11-1-2010 9-27-015.jpg
I’ve probably mentioned this before but St. Paul’s Cathedral is enormous. I saw a dome from afar and walked in that direction only to find it was one of the more famous sites in England. I walked in and the interior is impressive indeed. Again, filled with saints, royalty and the rich who are entombed in the floor, walls, and in some cases sort of as an exhibit. The place is magnificent and as I was wandering around I noticed an opportunity to head up to the top of the place. If you’re not in shape you may wish to reconsider as it is quite a trek, Sort of like Planes, Trains and Automobiles but with stairs, doors and obstacles. I made it to the top, crawled out a small opening and there I was, on a narrow ledge overlooking London. Sweet. I took some pictures and made the return trek, sat outside for a bit watching the tourists and was on my way again.

I also managed to see the crown jewels and received a personal tour as I was the first one in and the people behind me were sort of lollygaging so the guide took me through. The jewels are quite a sight to see. Huge gems, gold everywhere and one piece in particular was a wine bowl I believe that is a 2 ton gold with silver plating. How would you like to drink out of that? Of course there were scepters, crowns, and various other royal accessories to see but the place was filling up so I left.

The crown jewels are in a building that is part of a complex called Her Majesty’s Royal Palace and Fortress, so I walked over to the Tower to see what was inside. This is a place where some pretty horrible stuff took place turns out. It is filled with weapons and armor and again as I was wandering around alone the people inside answered all my questions and were quite helpful and pleasant. They had a replica of The Rack, The Scavenger’s Daughter and The Manacles. Seems the employees were particularly good at making life miserable for anyone unfortunate enough to find themselves on the wrong side of the king.

the london fire monument  11-1-2010 3-21-43 PM.jpg
Here are some tidbits for you to consider. On this complex there were manyexecutions it turns out. The best-known among those executed on or near the site are the three queens of England: Anne Boleyn, second wife of Henry VIII, who was in her early thirties, Catherine Howard, Henry VIII’s fifth wife, barely in her twenties and Lady Jane Grey who was only sixteen. Anne Boleyn was executed by the clean stroke of an expert swordsman specially imported from France. Lastly, another victim of the executioner’s axe on this spot, Margaret Pole, was less lucky. A blundering executioner ‘hacked her head and shoulders to pieces’.

One last thing, The Tube. Fantastic way of getting around London. Clean, Timely, Well run. I had no issues with it. The schedule is easy to figure out, the sites are all labeled and you can zip from point to point quickly. Used in conjunction with the other forms of public transportation and the sightseeing buses you can move around London like a real Travel Samurai.

https://wp.me/P3CC9J-6vq

Wizard of Where

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14