You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things I Used To Do: Drawing

in #catharseries7 years ago

Haha! It's funny to be reading this from someone whose skill in art I admire. You're right on the money with your observations, as always. Deliberate practice, grit and time really do make a difference and could easily make up for the lack of sheer talent. You're so on point with the factors that add to the discouragement, man haha!

I appreciate the compliment, brother! Coming from someone whose skill in drawing is exponentially better than mine, that's huge! I got a 4.0 in that subject, so even though it wasn't a fan favorite, at least it helped me land a spot on the dean's list haha!

Index cards? Wow! Those are expensive here, so as much as I wanted to use them, I was prevented from doing so haha! Though I remember some drawing there that I snuck in. It's great that you still kept it! Is piano the arch nemesis of drawing?! It's interesting to read about the similarities of our backstory, so thanks for sharing it :D

Sort:  

The good news is, that the small muscles in our hands that control the movement of the pencil can be redeveloped very quickly, and when I look back at the weekly editorial cartoons that forced me to start drawing again, they did improve a lot within a few weeks, so the skills are never too far away from reclaiming if needed.

As I recall, the index cards did become scarce at some point, but we made quite a few little movies before running out.

Ohh! SO you're saying that it's just like riding a bike? On the bright side, I wouldn't need to catch up too much. The downside is that I don't have that good of a skill in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65493.35
ETH 2639.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86