The old ginger tom, R.I.P. - DailyPetPhotography | "每天寵物攝影" 圖片 Day 455

in #cat5 years ago

Tommy loved this blanket,

and we buried him with it in August 2015, in our backyard, with wind chimes and woodland wildflowers and the pond with the frogs nearby. He loved walking the perimeter and seeing/hearing the plop, plop, plop of frogs all the way around the pond.

He loved rolling in dirt, dried grass, and hay,

and playing sentry, guardian of the driveway and all seven acres,

and he never, ever let Bobi the Bad get the upper hand (paw).

In a fit of envy, Bobi once tried to channel Tommy's cool:

Sorry, Bobi.

Nobody (except @grapthar's Blaze) can rival my old ginger tom for cool!

Tom-Tom, I miss you, my old friend

Sort:  

Right there with you. My profile pic on FB is still my late cat, Edit, who was a cool, cool kitty indeed. Edit used to walk me to the barn, and occasionally even down to the river, when our dog Lolo stayed up be the main house.

And Miod, pronounced "mewed," was awesome as well . . . he was the first and only cat I've even heard of who taught himself to use the porcelain toilet. I'm not kidding.

His favorite spot was either on top of the aquarium in the kitchen, or on top of the cabinets, by the window, and occasionally I still catch myself glancing up there to see him.

I miss all the animals we've lost over the years, but our kitty boys (and of course my Newfoundland, Ebony) still firmly have my heart.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhhh I hear you!! So many great characters who come and go in our lives are furry or feathered. Is Edit pronounced EED-it (Like Edith with a t not a -th)? I'm thinking of Edith Piaf (EE-dit).
I've heard of the occasional super-cat who teaches himself to use the people toilet. If only they all did that! You can buy flush-able cat litter but it's so expensive.
Thanks for reading and sharing more of your anecdotes. Our other ginger boy, Timmy, used to walk to the river and back with the dogs and me. Miod must have been big and strong, to leap to the cabinet tops. Our Merlin the Maine Coon was the master at that... Gotta stop thinking of these creatures gone from my life

Nope, Edit is pronounced just as it looks, as in editor.

Marek and I came up with the name one evening outside at our fire pit, which was hilarious in context, but the following day neither of us could recall why it was funny.

Ah, well, the name stuck. And I did occasionally ask him for editorial advice, so there's that. ;-)

Edit was long, lithe and slim, whereas Miod was short and stocky, but although Edit also occasionally napped on top of the aquarium, he almost never got on top of the cabinets.

Miod, on the contrary, seemed to want to live up there.

Both were white with black spots, both showed up and announced that they now lived with the us, and both were amazing, loving and wonderful boys. Neither was particularly large, maybe ten pounds tops.

And they were good friends to one another, to Bear, and to Lolo, with minimal squabbling.

I've written before that Lolo was despondent when Edit died, but when Miod died a few months earlier, he quite literally slept on his grave for three days. They had an amazing bond.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhhh Lolo!! Sleeping on a cat's grave for 3 days! Our Bobi has never mourned the loss of other pets. Our dear Blaise and Bailey preceded him, collies, but Bobi showed no reaction to their loss. He persecuted Merlin and exiled him. Tommy put Bobi in his place and ignored him (one reason I love that old tom!). Beedle spent a summer here but he and Bobi showed no separation anxiety whatsoever when our daughter retrieved Beedle. Bailey was senile, blind, and deaf in the end, and not all that aware when Blaise died, or she might have mourned him. Same thing happened with my mother-in-law. Dementia was a gift when it came time for her to attend a funeral... had her husband died earlier, she would have died of a broken heart within weeks. I love stories of animal bonding but it tears my heart out, the dogs who wait at train stops (that Japanese film, a true story), or at cemeteries... sob!...

Beedle the Bad kept Bobi in his place

Yeah, Edit and Bear were inseparable after Miod died, and slept together near Lolo more often than not. They all felt the loss.

Musica came to us shortly after Miod's death, and she immediately informed the boys that a new queen ruled the roost, and they didn't argue. She and Edit flirted with one another regularly, while Bear looked on in detached amusement.

Bear was lost when Edit died, and if he hadn't had Musica to mourn with, we might have lost him too. Things happen for a reason.

We were all stricken, including Musica, even though she hadn't been with us for long.

Posted using Partiko Android

Somedays I am overcome with missing my furry friends, no matter how long they have been gone. Seymour, Eddie, Theo and Esme, cats. Prissy, Delilah, Patches, Solimar and Ringo, dogs. Countless lizards, hamsters, tortoises and fish (OK I don't miss the fish so much - those I could not keep alive). I even miss your Tommy now. xo

And I miss your Edit of the river walks, your Miou, even your turtles and lizards. We lost our fish, The Lone Ranger, sole survivor of a trio. That fish lasted and lasted and lasted. We drained the tank, finally, and said goodbye. Our animal companions are as near and dear to us as human family. (Maybe dearer, sometimes!)

Congratulations @carolkean! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks. How many millions or billions of humans have mourned the loss of a furry or feathered friend? At least I'm in good company. :)

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Aw! Sounds like he had a great life and you gave him a good send-off. So many good-byes, so many missed.

I know that you need some rest - but when you feel ready, maybe you want to give the We-write a try again.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/we-write-partner-up-10-sbi-in-prizes-4-4-2019

Thank you Marianne. Cold Cases have been unusually time-consuming all week long. i need to step away from that site. New information on my sister's murder, however, demanded all my attention. The details I heard from someone who knew her in 1975 - it's surreal to see her again from someone else's eyes and know that only my sister fit that description. Things that leave no doubt that the new witness is indeed describing Julie, not confusing her with someone else. Sorry. My mind is still not at Steemit... I'll get it corralled soon, I hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79