Manga on a Budget: Let's Get on with Some Cheap Tricks!

in #cartoon-off5 years ago (edited)

thumb.jpg

The other day, I talked a little about my past on how did I got into drawing and some light reasons that I have on why I draw. Today will also have a little story into it but this time, there will be some practice tips for people who would want these tips personally, cause let's face it, not everyone(if there are) that reads this will take these tips for real even if they had the chance. But still, this post will be here, so... Yeah, let's get on with it!

The first challenges that I had while studying making comics that time were finding the right materials for making professional manuscripts. And when I say right it means, it should fit into my almost 0 pesos(peso is our currency here in Philippines) budget.

Its still clear as day to me how hard and scarce were my budget for art that time because my parent don't want to give any money to me... cause they think that what I'm doing is a waste of time while their "going to college idea" is the superior and sure way to do in your life. Okay, I would want to try to avoid that college talk from now on as much as possible.

So... Yeah, I solved the paper issues with finding the scraps that they just stack all over the house and thats where I started. With those stacks of paper, I started to do my first figures and I am telling you, all of them are very terrible!

I can't show any of my works that time because I have this habit of not staying and mopping on a work for a long time and moving into another piece of paper. On other words, I throw away what I drew after I finished it that time.
aaaaaaaaaaaa.jpg
Like, my mindset that time was "all I need to do is keep on drawing and somehow I'll get better but I need to be good fast so I can't waste time glorifying a drawing I completed". Cause of that mind set, somehow I "failed faster". Creativity is the collection of repeated failures same goes with the definition of talent. If someone tells you that he is "good at drawing and he never went to school for it but learned it because the skill is in born", I suggest to you to stay away from that person or if he or she is your friend, I would suggest to you to avoid the conversation about natural talent as much as possible because its not true and he or she is just fooling his or herself.

Yeah, there are people who have the genetics that are good for boxing like the shape of Manny Pacquiao's face which is really good for boxing cause of the physics that it can offer for taking up blows on the face(but still he got a knock out from one of his matches even with such a face). Like, you could also be born with parents that are into art so that you're more likely to start your life revolving around art... but still, that not makes someone significant in the field.

"In born" shit can give advantage but not to the extent that it will make you a king. I think the best "in born" thing that you can have is that "in born" inheritance from your parent if your parents are rich, I think thats just it, hahaha.

Like, drawing is a language and the same like other languages like Japanese, it takes time to learn and learning them aren't easy. There are no short cuts and there are no wonder drugs or a school program that can fully make you good, the school program can help but because most people believe on it too much, they end up relying on it too much and most of the time they end up not being good at drawing but good at bragging.

Like, my professor which is an architect back in my school days brags that he graduated with two things, passion and talent... Well, personally, its hard to believe his words because of he is already at his 40s and he still works "just for money" and has no freedom to choose for himself. And thats how he call success? Give me a break!(okay, I'm starting being mad again, LOL LOL LOL)
28.jpg
At extreme levels like having almost no money, real talent blooms. With limitation, creativity heightens. Just look at those pixel arts that are made out of low resolution canvases. Due to the limited way to do digital art before, this kind of art was born! So never give a fucking excuse that you do not have this or that to not advance.

Like... The first concerns that I had at first when I still have no money was knowing what the materials I need and having the money that I need to buy them.

The first things that I learned about pro mangakas were the things that they use to draw and their mediums most of the time for drawing are dip pens. These dip pens are metal nibs that you dip on ink to load with ink before you draw with it. These dip pens aren't expensive they only cost around 2 dollars for a set that you can use for a year. And this time the problem isn't really money but the availability of the materials.

The dip pens and papers that these mangakas use aren't available here in the Philippines. The truth is, I just bought my first set of the official type of manga pens that these mangakas use 2 years ago given that I've been drawing for 7 years that time. How? Ofcourse I found a better and cheaper alternative! The fountain pen!

The fountain pen is a very good drawing tool and a very underated one. Given the durability of the medium not only that its life is very long the medium itself is also expressive, fast and cheap... Way cheaper than the official dip pens that these mangakas use!

Inoxcrom is the cheapest brand that I know for fountain pens. I was able to buy a lot of them for three dollars each in a local bookstore. The ink that I used are a dollar per bottle so that makes it 4 to 5 dollars a set for you to be able to start drawing with ink!

I have a couple of fountain pens here and believe it or not, the very first one that I bought years ago is still working and functional even I didn't treated it nicely whenever I use it. That's how durable these fountain pens are. They withstand rust, corrosion and the abusive use of the illustrator. Its the ultimate starter medium for everyone specially for those who have next to no money.

Using it for the first would have some discomforts with using it, same thing when you use the Official Manga Dip pens.


Oops, this post just got longer than expected!

Everything in this post are mine!

t.png

Sort:  

Good to read the background story. Parents sometimes are that way only because they want the best for their kids and what they deem best is always education. Either ways you have done well I believe.

Hi turtledancedaily!

I am (currently @eaudebla) a curator for AkibaSteem and this is just to let you know that I upvoted your post:

We're an anime-focused community full of fans and good people! We aim to find good anime & manga content, share a happy moment & give some visibility. You got our vote and your post may get featured in our compilation post, if you don't want to be featured please let us know. Keep up the great work!

Also, feel free to join our community on Discord!

https://discord.gg/7JQruwm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77