Sex Appeal of Electric Cars?

in #cars6 years ago

Let me ask you a one simple question, do you find new electric cars to be something you would desire and ultimately buy? Cars like Nissan Leaf, Toyota Prius or Renault Zoe? Those names do not invoke something a man would buy, overall design of these cars is terrible.

I don't understand how the minds of big car companies plan to compete against Tesla with a thin can look, a cube with wheels?! Really!? With names like Leaf or Zoe?! When you see these cars there is only one word that you can say to describe them and that word is WHY! When they say affordable electric cars that still cost over 25000$ and look like this, something went horribly wrong in that process.

prius.jpg

Toyota Prius

leaf.jpg

Nissan Leaf

zoe.jpg

Renault Zoe

Would you rather buy a car that looks like a tampon or something that actually looks like a proper car? There are even worse designs of "affordable" electric cars, but I don't want to make your eyes bleed.

How do they come up with these names and designs is beyond me. I'm a huge fan of electric cars, but please if you see me buy any of these shit cars shoot me dead.

But then comes the future in an Electric car industry. Some big car manufactures are slowly joining in to take the piece of that market cake. We will soon have some very futuristic looking electric cars with big range and the price of those will be "ala grande". Only people with very deep pockets will be able to afford cars like this.

ipace.jpg

Jaguar I-Pace

missione.jpg

Porsche Mission One

mercedes eqc.jpg

Mercedes EQC

audi e tron.jpg

Audi E Tron

There is only one middle ground on which everyone can agree and that is Tesla Model 3. Model 3 is not too expensive with starting price of 35000$ and the car actually looks great and is filled with technology everyone else could only dream of having atm.

tesla.jpg

Tesla Model 3

Only one big problem plagues the Model 3 success rate and that problem is a huge waiting time, if you order one today maybe you will see the car delivered to you in about 1.5-2 years. That is way too long waiting time to get a damn car.
Honestly this whole electric car industry is giving me a headache. But to go green we need to fight through these adoption years, as Tesla likes to say "we need to exit a production hell".

Sort:  

I think we will see a lot of "sexy" electric cars and hybrids in the near future.

But electric cars will have a weight vs HP problem, so the next couple of years they will be smaller and look simpler than petrol cars.

Personally I think the Prius looks pretty nice and sporty. E Golf is just like regular Golf. So I am optimistic.

You think it looks sporty, damn. For me it looks like a car from the 90s. When you say low HP did you see a video of Tesla Model X towing an airplane?

The problem is more related to weight/ HP and the effective range. Not HP :-) Tesla looks great, but the company is loosing money. That have to change that soon or bankrupcy.

I think Prius looks pretty nice, yes. At east compared to the two other you show in same class.

Isn't car design today pretty boring anyways. "All" today cars are generic. Not like this little beauty:
Saab 99 EMS

Range is getting improved with new models non stop. I remember 5 years ago most electric cars would go 50miles on one battery charge. These days basic Tesla Model 3 can go 220 miles on one charge, huge improvement in short amount of time, that's why I don't think Tesla will fail. They just need to speed up the production somehow, I'm sure they will figure it out.

I hope Tesla make it. Always fun to watch a good contender!

Range is relative, and lots of factors matter. I live north of the Arctic cirlcle. Range on E cars midwinter is pretty shitty :-)

Well if you live in a polar region it is probably smarter to get a moose :)

I would ride like Santa. Raindeer power!

Oh the looks -.- I couldn't buy one either if it is this bad looking... I think that somebody is going to get fired in those companies after they see that they failed.. Future is here and they could design the car much better to even come close to competing with others...

I heard that Tesla has problems with battery, if it gets caught on fire it is really hard to extinguish it. So they are having some legal problems with that, or they WILL have it...

But as it's already said, these are the adoption years so we need to be patient a bit... Have a great day man!

Those bad ones are mostly cars produced in 2017. You would presume all these years of car design would produce something better, but no such luck.
In those rare occasions a Tesla battery might catch fire, but that is something comparable to a meteor drop on your head or if a coin goes 10x in a bear market :) But yes, they will need to resolve that burning issue.

I agree, these cars are fugly, but I love their acceleration and to be honest, they have only one weekness in my eyes (besides look) and that is lifespan of their battery. I want them to be a thing.

Yeah all electric cars have a great torque, they can accelerate really fast. Tesla Model 3 battery life should last about 100000 miles, decent number if you ask me. In the future we will be able to get new battery packs from their services.

Nisan is the cutest of them.

Don't melt when you see these :)
smart.jpg
ems.jpg

I'm not into cars. I'm into moto for enduro.
However, if I have to choose a sexy car, driven by a man, (I hate to drive), that would NOT be an electric car.

Electric cars are the future, but right now I still have Fiat Uno ;)

Range is getting better, but is still a limiting factor. Same goes for charging time. There were concepts in which you would simply switch standardized battery set at the e-station and move quickly. I'm not sure what's up with that?!

Probably too expensive for mass production.

Probably, for now. There are also cool futuristic concepts in which all the power and brain is in the board. Shell would be customizable depending on purpose or user wishes.

Lmfao...u have a good sense of humor. How would u call a car tampon. Lolzzz

In my opinion, these electric cars look real good and I think this is a case of beauty being in the eyes of the beholder.

I love them cars the way they look but u dont and I am sure we have more people like me who like them looking this way.

Imagine Nissan Leaf colored red. A tampon looking car.

Tesla 3 is the beauty, not A beauty, but THE beauty. I agree that question why comes to mind when looking at some designs but WTF comes too. Not with Tesla 3 thought ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16