"You talking to me?" - De Niro - Caricature

in #caricature5 years ago

Attempt One:
The sketch looks wrong. I cannot see a likeness here. Sometimes, when doing a gesture rough, you get it right the first time. I could start overt totally, but I chose to fiddle a bit to see if I could improve it. I tried to distort and "gesture sketch" but lost the likeness on my first attempt. I always run rough sketches to see if the character and likeness has been captured. It can go wrong pretty easily so I tried again...di-niro-1.jpgAttempt Two:Untitled-1.jpgThis seems better. Not great, but I could correct when I go to the detailed sketch...

Sketch Three - Detail added
de-niro-2.jpg
This is where I wanted to go! Just a few tweaks to provide some confidence that the likeness will emerge....

Four - Add some colour!:de-niro-2.jpgde-niro-2.jpgde-niro-3.jpgBlocking in of more detailed colour comes next but this is just to provide a background to work on...

Five - Block in colors with few as possible strokes:de-niro-4.jpg![de-niro-4.jpg]

This gives me an idea of the redness of the face and hair color

Step Six - Rough Detail:de-niro-5.jpgThe idea is to slowly build up to finer and finer detail rather than get there at the first attempt...

Final - Wrinkles, hair and texture:de-niro-6.jpg
Thanks for popping by!
Until next time!
Junior

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97