Sort:  

So that is how canning is done? Thank you for going step by step in your post. I love learning new things. I currently live in an apartment complex, so really have no area to have a garden. I do grow some herbs indoors though.

I found this post as it was listed in @pennsif's Sustainability Curation Digest. Your post was listed with a number of other excellent posts.

I wish you and yours blessing and groovy vibes this upcoming week and every week!

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Thank you! I appreciate that!

Great method of conservation!
One question: Do you tighten the lids on the cans when you put them to boil in the canner, or afterwards?

You tighten the lids snugly before you put them in the canner. You don't want to over tighten them because that could damage the seal.
Also, the lids are heated in hot water before putting them on to soften the seal material to get a better seal.

Fabulous!! I am growing more tomatoes This year to preserve them too. I like to dry them and must build a solar dehydrator.

I got some canning supplies ready but just haven't grown enough tomatoes and anything else to make it worthwhile since it's a small garden this year. Planning to expand it next year.

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I learnt some more about canning, thank you. I’ve featured this post in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34