King Kush Cannabis Shatter Review and How a Puffco Pro 2 Vape Pen Works.

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

As promised, I will share my opinion about a concentrated oil (in shatter form) that was made from a strain of cannabis called King Kush.

Shatter, as it is often called, is an exceptionally concentrated form of the essential oil of cannabis. It's usually extracted under pressure with a solvent of some sort (like butane, carbon dioxide or pure hydrocarbons.) Next to a pure THC Crystaline form of cannabis (which can reach a 99% concentration level of THC) shatter is recognized as one of the strongest forms of cannabis plant medicine.  Shatter routinely clocks in at a 80% (minimum) concentration level of THC which makes a small amount of it, extraordinarily potent. 

What sets a shatter apart from a wax or a sap is largely related to nuances in how the extraction was achieved, how much water exists in the finished product and whether the solvents have been completely removed or not.

This is what shatter can look like:

It resembles a sticky, hard taffy with gas bubbles dispersed through it. I have been told that shatter made on the west coast of Canada (British Columbia, to be precise) is heavily bubbled but by the time it travels to Ontario, (which is a 5 hour domestic flight) it looses most of its bubbles and all melds together.

A very good quality shatter will be quite thin and translucent. You should be able to see through it and it should resemble a yellow to amber glass. It should also be very brittle and easy to break into small pieces, which is what you do with it, and why it's called "shatter."

(Please file this piece of cannabis trivia under: " Today I learned why a specific type of cannabis oil concentrate is called shatter").

This particular shatter is made from a strain of cannabis called King Kush and it's 1 gram in weight.

In this photo you can see the full gram of shatter beside my Puffco vape pen (which is the size as a regular ball-point pen that a person would write with).

Shatter usually comes wrapped in parchment paper because it does have a tendency to be sticky.

In my area, a good quality shatter sells for $70 per gram. A gram of the same strain, in its dried flower or bud form will run you about $12. The reason shatter is almost 6 times more expensive is because of the work and the cost of the other materials and equipment involved in extracting the cannabis essential oil from its flowers. The price is also directly tied to the volume or the amount of dried flowers that it actual takes to make a gram of shatter. The ratio is approximately 3.3: 1. I've never made shatter myself, but my understanding is that for every 3.3 grams of dried flowers you can expect to recover 1 gram of shatter.

The reason shatter is sought after is because it's an exceptionally concentrated form of cannabis and as such, a person usually only requires a small amount or just a "dab" of it. This is where the term "dabbing" has come from. When people say they are doing a "dab sesh" they are usually referring to ingesting shatter by vapourizing it. They'll do this by using a hot nail bong or by using a vapourizer designed specifically for shatter or waxes.

(Please file these bits of cannabis trivia under"Today I learned why the technique of dabbing is called dabbing and what a dab sesh is." 

King Kush is a 70% Indica dominant hybrid. In its dried flower form it clocks in at 20% THC. In its shatter format it's over 80%!

Its parents are Grape Ape and OG Kush.

Once ingested, this strain provides almost an instant euphoria with pain relief and a cerebral high. It's fantastic for lowering inflammation and as such, is great for any chronic pain or arthritic conditions. Within about 30 minutes the cerebral high lessens and transforms into a gentle body high which allows muscular tension to magically melt away. As the experience progresses, it becomes more sedative which makes this a wonderful night-time strain. As a result, it is prized by Insomniacs. 

No kidding aside, this is a stronger sedative strain and in its shatter form it is exceptionally potent. 3 inhalations from my vape pen is all I need to reach my ideal dose.

I use a special vapourizer, called a Puffco Pro 2 Vapourizer Pen. It has been engineered to effectively vapourize shatters or waxes, as opposed to other vapourizers which are designed to vapourize runny liquids or vapes that are designed to rapidly heat dried, ground flower.

The pen comes in it's own hard cover carrying case. The body is made of stainless steel and the bowl that contains its heating element is completely ceramic. This produces great clouds of vapour in less than 5 seconds of heating.

    

Here you can see the 3 individual pieces (which all thread together). There's a mouth piece, the ceramic chamber with heating element and then the rechargeable battery compartment. The case is molded plastic and is felt lined. A USB battery charger comes with it, completing the kit. The battery (when fully charged) will last for up to 100 uses before it needs to be recharged.

                                                            

This is difficult to show because of the slim design of the vape. It's currently the smallest vapourizer that I own. This is its ceramic bowl and it has a heating element in the middle of it. You simply drop a small piece of shatter in the middle of the bowl and you can use a small pick to position it more precisely in the middle of the heating element if you need too. Then you screw the mouth piece in place and it's ready for use.

        

I dropped a small piece of shatter into the ceramic chamber with the mouth piece off so that you could see the cloud of vapour. It was able to produce this cloud, in about 3 seconds after I activating it.

It's no wonder, this vape has won a High Times award for the best vape pen in its category. 

    

The benefits of using a Puffco pen over a bong (in my humble opinion) are:

  • its sleek design that is exceptional portable;
  • its stainless steel durability which won't easily break if it's accidentally knocked over;
  • its temperature can be controlled which makes the inhalation experience easier on the throat;
  • it doesn't require a blow torch to heat a nail head which greatly reduces the risk of personal burns;
  • and its price point at approximately $80 USD. It's a great value for your vaping dollar.

All in all, I really like the strain King Kush in its shatter form. The taste was a heavy citrus, grapefruit.

I need a strong sedative Indica for night-time relief and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to any "seasoned" canni-sseur or experienced cannabis user, especially if they need something effective to treat chronic pain or insomnia.

I also wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Puffco Pro 2 Vapourizer Pen. I've owned mine for over a year and it has always worked flawlessly.

I welcome your questions and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan

  


Sort:  

Sounds great!

Thanks psilacetin!
I have followed you. Welcome to my blog page. :)

@rebeccaryan
Even though I have been around cannabis a good part of my life. I never acquired the habit of looking for it or using it. Of course, I have been pain free for the most part of my life. I don't take any kind of drugs, legal or otherwise.
I just haven't needed any. Not that I am against pain or healing drugs that humans or animals may need. I just don't need them. I am whacky enough without any other kind of help. Ha
Rebecca, you have explained in great detail what King Kush Cannabis Shatter is and how to effectively use it for the desired effect. As I get even older than I already am. And the pains of old age finally catch up. I will be looking for your excellent description of what I can do to help myself. Maybe by then, my country, the USA will be more tolerant of cannabis and it many uses for humans and their needs.
Thank you for this review. I am believing that you have helped some people already in your detailed review, in this post.
May freedom reign. In all it's human needed forms.

Francis

Thanks for your reflective comments Francis! Just know that if you ever need any assistance in this area, for you or someone in your family, I will make sure you get the information that you need to make informed choices, safely.
Cannabis is "a" tool. There are numerous healing plants all around us and the use of them, starts with sound education. :)

Thank you Rebecca. I know what we need for our physical bodies can many times be found in nature.
That is the preferred option. Prescription drugs have their place, but for me. I try to avoid them if possible.
Cannabis is on the comeback trail. It has been there all the time. But it has been held back from its rightful place by, what I would consider to be, "the uniformed."
As you wrote. Education is needed. And once we have some understanding. Then we can make good choices for ourselves.

Francis

concentrates are amazing and if done properly have the advantage to cut out all plant matter and allow one to microdose, minimize potential harmful effects of burning as the pure resin sublimates on a nail or coil, great post)

I couldn't agree more @phenry!
Thanks for adding this great comment. ;)

wow i always jut use the empty "Bloom" cartridges which let me use a lil cooil and recyle old vape tips, i can break off the tip and use it as a coil! but THIS is way better!

ad mmm i gottago buy some more wax!

i actually get wax for $16 a gram when i buy six for $1000 so i should be just stocking up!

Thanks for adding these comments. It's nice to learn what others are doing and that loyalty is being rewarded in our cannabis culture. ;)

I'm learning so much about cannabis from you! Frankly I didn't know I was interested until +/- 6 months ago I started following your blog and now I'm hooked on the info and stories even though I'm not much of a cannabis user. At least if I ever decide to become one I'll be well-informed! great post as always

Thank you so much for sticking by my side through this year @natureofbeing. I mean that with the utmost sincerity. Covering info on cannabis (as a mid-aged woman) in a male dominated industry is tricky. I think it's harder to earn credibility and respect as a result because "ladies" aren't suppose to "broad-cast" information about anything that gives them pleasure or that makes the activities of living for them, easier. Generally, the average person on the street, would still think that anyone (male or female) who uses cannabis everyday is an addict. When, in actual fact, it is a valuable herb that is a super-food. I also load vit. D and magnesium everyday...does that make an addict of those substances too? No, but they too make life easier and if I can get solid, valuable information in the hands of anyone who needs it to improve their quality of life, I will do it. Thank you for keeping your mind open, my friend, I really value and appreciate that. :)

Very interesting that the cannabis industry is male-dominated, I didn't realize that. Good for you for persevering, you really seem to know your stuff and have so much to offer! As I said, I've learned so much. I've always believed in the healing powers of cannabis despite not being a huge user - mostly because I don't have symptoms to treat regularly. Anyway, supporting you has been a great pleasure!!

For all Canadians here... I suggest trying this site out.
Delivery takes 3 days across Canada... decent shatter listed there too. :D

Thanks for adding this site for others and commenting @madhatt!
I have followed you and bookmarked this site for future reference.
Their prices seem to be right in line and competitive. ;)

Nice post,very helpful.
Was wondering if you could get the Puffco Pro 2 Vapourizer Pen in the U.K.

Thanks @makrotheblack!
It should be available it's on about its 3rd generation now so, it's been on the market for a while and is a known brand of vape.
Thanks for commenting and welcome to my blog page. I have followed you. ;)

Thanks for that.
Look forward to your future posts.

good post and nice images thanx for sharing

Thanks @sanks7!
I have followed you.
Welcome to my blog page. :)

I use daily to smoke a lot of hash and shatter either in my vape or a bowl , and man it was amazing. Tried over 100s of strains ! The fact that the pen can be taken out even in public is the best part of it :D

too bad u didnt take photos of every cartridge and wax u tried! u could be posting them all here monetizing every review!!!!!
here is my LA confidential plant

I know I'm upset that I did not save any of the pictures , might have a few that I could share on here :D

Go back into your Google Photo bacup or u have an Apple iphone icloud? How about your facebook u dont have any albums? u would be suprised how many pphotos are on the cloud! I found a ton of photos i mever asked to upload on the cloud including nudes of ex girlfriends that i never uploaded or evr sentto anyone, crazy! comes in handy tho!

OH and u need a profile image!!!!

it hurts u to not have a profileimage! people will be les slikely to upvote u! they think ur a throwaway account

hows that possible, i have a picture up and i see the picture as well. and ill try to figure out where i put the pictures like account wise, i have an Iphone

sorry i jst saw that! it must be a glitch on my end! i just saw anotehr user @its4thekids with no profilei clieked his profile tho and theer it was weird
yeah i se u have one
WOW u are makinG ALOt of money off ur posts an comments!!!! Are u just posting everyday and making alot of comments!?!!? Ur posting to chainBB in photgraphy right?

! and u just jined in june!!!! Woah did u already have a steemit account is this ur second?!

proof i upvoted ur wall!

its ok! ur fine! just a glitch while looking at comment replies i guess! ur fine u doo have a profile pic!

wow keep it up, im jelous of how fast u are makking money! took me months to gt where u are at now in just weeks!!!god job keep goin! i helped uin the beginning with a giveaway right? im so happy to see u super suvccesfu now u needto make MORE money tho! u need $1000 a day! ad ill help u get there!!

No this is my first account, I work really hard since im staying at home right now (Due next next , thats why). so i worked hard in the last month to comment and post. I usually do 1 post-2 posts a day and mostely comment to get out in the community. Thank you for your support :)

I see everyone as family on here and I always help those who help me earn my way up. You will also get much higher than me.

@ackza, Thanks for commenting. Yes, I think this is a fantastic idea for any cannabis enthusiasts to share their experiences with this plant medicine.

Thanks for your comment @jouneyoflife!
The pen is so discrete. It's one of its best features. :)

I just got a Pen with Durbin Poison & love it. I will try out the Puffco Pro!

You will not be disappointed @everydaydigital!
Thanks for commenting. I have followed you. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76