House Democrats Introduce Bill To Legalize Cannabis At Federal Level

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)



On Wednesday, a group of House Democrats introduced a bill which would legalize cannabis at the federal level, removing it from the Controlled Substances Act list, as well as expunge federal convictions for the use or possession of cannabis.

The bill, which was introduced by Reps. Barbara Lee and Ro Khanna of California and is backed by 12 House Democrats, also aims to provide "restorative justice" to people and communities who have suffered the most under the prohibition of cannabis.

The new bill would be a companion to the Marijuana Justice Act, introduced last year by Sen. Cory Booker and Rep Lee.

The bills would:

  • (1) remove marijuana from the US Controlled Substances Act, thereby ending the federal criminalization of cannabis;
  • (2) incentivize states to mitigate existing and ongoing racial disparities in state-level marijuana arrests;
  • (3) expunge federal convictions specific to marijuana possession;
  • (4) allow individuals currently serving time in federal prison for marijuana-related violations to petition the court for resentencing;
  • (5) and create a community reinvestment fund to invest in communities most impacted by the failed War on Drugs.

According to a recent Gallup poll, 64% of Americans support the legalization of cannabis, including a majority of Republicans, which is a pretty new development in polling. That makes the legalization of cannabis in the United States a bipartisan issue, supported by the majority of its citizens whose time is long overdue.

I'm curious to find out what the restrictions, if any, would be on home cultivation. I need to do further research. If you've got more details, please feel free to leave them in the comments. I'd love to have a discussion with you about this topic!

http://www.businessinsider.com/marijuana-justice-act-marijuana-legalization-bill-introduced-in-house-2018-1

https://www.drugs.com/csa-schedule.html

http://norml.org/action-center/item/the-marijuana-justice-act-of-2017-introduced


What can SteemEngine do for you?

  • Earn votes by voting for others!
  • Earn followers by following others!
  • Referral system. Earn more SBD for your referrals votes.
  • Less spam, better content through report system.
  • SteemEngine users receives 5x more votes than the average Steem user.

TRY FOR YOURSELF

Sort:  

@marksheppard, Good to see another post about this, I wrote a blog about this earlier today, let's keep in touch... upvoted.
https://steemit.com/cannabis/@vinmaru/cannabis-news-the-marijuana-justice-act-introduced-into-the-house-of-representatives

To be perfectly honest, I saw yours a couple hours ago and thought "shit... I already wrote that one, but here's another one." Then I realized it's all good, and we can both shed light on the issue. I appreciated your take on it!

Cool, it's all good... Upvote mine too if you like it. I write quite a bit about the cannabis industry, mostly about investments and opportunities, and am quite active in the MJ space. Cheers

My upvote is essentially worthless right now, so I gave you a slight upvote from a bot instead. :)

Hi @marksheppard - I am liking each one of your posts within about half an hour after your posting. If you like my posts within a few hours I will keep on liking yours. Is this a deal? Please let me know as I really like your material and it would be great if we could work together. (provided my material is up to it) :)
Thanks.
Rob.

I saw that, thanks. I added you and will upvote posts. :)

Great post tnx for sharing I just upvote check out my post steemit all the way

I like your post.

This wonderful post has received a @marksheppard 9.14% upvote from @hellowhale. Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/XG4y3mg You can vote in the name of the odl. https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You got a 16.67% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @marksheppard!

Thank you @marksheppard for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 12.69% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

I do not think it will pass it would cost the industries billions which is one of the reasons it was banned in the old days.

In the old days it was used for rope, for cloths, baskets, wood, oil for lamps and for medicine. In the world today with the knowledge that cancer cells just hate bcd oil it would kill the chemo industry and the list goes on and on..

Right now it is used for medicine and recreation but when there are zillions of unused parts of the plants left over and they begin to see profit can be made off the whole plant it will be hard for industry to compete with a raw stock that is free.

If people were smart, they'd just change with the time and support the new industries. Cannabis is a thriving industry on its own, and hemp could be as well if people just changed their outlook a little bit and got their minds out of the 20th century.

You got a 58.80% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @marksheppard!

I don't how many times this has been introduced, but I pray this is it.

I sense the end is near. I really do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69