I guess this is what they call a blog...blurting out difficult emotions...and still not making any sense of them

in #cancer6 years ago

 One thing I've been forced to notice about myself recently is how I compartmentalise things. If I don't like dealing with a feeling or a subject, I'm quite good at building a wall around it, and dealing with it when I'm ready, or more often, when I'm forced to deal with it. I'm undecided if this is actually a negative trait or not. Conventional wisdom these days screams at us to let all the things hang out!!!

Often when I receive bad news, I can function quite well if I am in a setting where I feel it inappropriate to express my feelings. When my cat died my husband phoned me at work to tell me. I was fine. When I saw him after work I started crying and could hardly stop for the next week. I hate the heartless way I feel when I suppress my emotion, but I equally hate the uncontrollable feeling I have when my emotions have full rein. 
This year a friend of mine died from breast cancer. When she was first diagnosed a few years ago she wrote a book (which she sold on Amazon) about her journey of refusing the traditional chemotherapy route. She asked me to proof read her book and make suggestions to improve its readability, which I did, but we weren't particularly close. I don't make close friendships easily as I am very self-contained and I am more than happy to spend time alone. I felt saddened by her passing, but I was disturbed that I didn't feel devastated.


Over this same period, I did make a close friend, the first female friend I have had since high school! We had to be friends as she is as weird as me, and even more self sufficient than I am. We have both experienced some pretty intense life experiences since we met (at my shop!) and I suppose fate must have thrown us two weirdos together as who else would be able to understand us!


This week my friend found a lump in her breast. I immediately felt emotionless and I was disturbed by that. Blood work has been done and she is in the earliest stage of cancer. She already had cancer when she was 22 years and pregnant with her second child, and almost died. Earlier this year she had a cancerous skin lesion removed and was on a course of oral chemotherapy. The funny thing is that no matter what health issue she experiences, she seems invincible. The term warrior will not even adequately describe her. In her line of work, she needs to read people. At times I have found this exasperating, as it is exceptionally annoying to have someone see what lies behind my defenses and poker face.


As the week has worn on, my defenses have weakened. I am now feeling the pain of the passing of my other friend. My friend has poked those defenses as only she knows how. We do not speak in platitudes and false inspirational bullshit. We know the stakes and we know the odds. There is nothing I can do except be there. I am quite maternal when it comes to her, but she needs me to express it by being a crazy bitch. My friend is going through the early stages of a divorce too. Committing my heart fully to anything or anybody is extremely rare for me, but when I do I am more loyal than a dog. I will be there for whatever is needed from me. And I will experience whatever emotion I can handle at at any given moment, I suppose.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This song just popped into my mind.


Really, what am I trying to express? My pain? My lack of pain? I know now I do not lack the pain and it will be expressed. When I was young I was chased by a group of men after a party on campus. I managed to escape and hide and I was fine the rest of the weekend. But for years afterwards, the feeling of being chased festered in my dreams. I suppose this is just another journey.

@onetree

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear you have such an emotional weight on you at the moment. I resonate with a lot you say as regards compartmentalising emotions. I've got some great books that you might find useful to read. If you want a link to an online folder that has them all in just send me a PM in the steemchat. Thanks for sharing. Best. Kate

I thought you might like:
The Body Keeps the Score
The Secret Language of Feelings
Attached The New Science of Adult Attachment
The Seven Levels of Intimacy
Daniel Siegel - Mindsight--The New Science of Personal Transformation
Rewire your brain

Thank you, that is exceptionally kind of you. Things are crazy here at the moment, I can barely keep up with Steemit. As soon as I have a chance to actually read I will PM you. :)

No worries - I actually just PM'ed you with the link and those recommendations, it's waiting for you in your chat inbox when you have the time to read anything!

I am so sorry to hear the sad news. She will fight hard, that is the impression I get of her. This has been a difficult year for me as well. I am there if you ever need to talk.

Thanks! Preferably don't say anything to her until she is ready to talk herself.

Wow, that is a lot to have to process emotionally for anyone. In time I am sure you will do with all of the pain the way that is best for you. When your heart is fully open and ready to let it all flow where it needs to go, you will once again feel the freedom you once knew.

Thank you for your kind words. Processing emotions is not something I am good at. I never was.

I consider myself somewhat similar to you, just went through a breakup, acted like nothing happened, built a wall around it.

I suddenly find myself tear-struck when listening to music or if I'm alone.

I think there is a lot of people like us. Defenses to a degree may be good. They allow me to deal with my feelings at my own pace. Is it healthy? I have no idea? Thank you for your comment and I think you are dealing with your break-up as you can deal with it.

Very heavy life experience and traumatic difficulties. Try to keep a cool head. I would recommend the use of crystals for healing as well.
I did have an inkling of something like this last week but I thought it was someone really close ie family or relative.
Take each day at a time. Positive vibration , use your singing bowl!

Take care.

Don't know what to say but I'm very sorry and cancer sucks.

Thanks :) I don't even know what to say.

Congratulations @onetree! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01