Townhouse Trees • BW Photo Contest • Shadows

in #bwphotcontest6 years ago (edited)

Townhouse Trees • BW Photo Contest • Shadows


A couple of weeks ago I was wandering around looking for something interesting to shoot and these tree shadows appeared before me on the side of a townhouse. It was a clear day and due to the vacant lot across the street, the winter sun had no obstacles in projecting the shadows onto the wall. It was windy that day so I was also able to capture movement of the shadows in a short video which I converted to a GIF and included below. The photo and video were created with my iPhone 6S Plus.

Thank you @daveks for creating and hosting the contest and @boxcarblue for judging!

IMG_8297 (1).jpg

Below is my GIF of the movement of the trees reflected on the wall.
IMG_8296.GIF


U5dssCqyQ8N9j5ewV5rAaNKA8Pqykev_1680x8400.png

Thanks for the art @overkillcoin... minnows, dolphins, whales... I’m down with squid!

Sort:  

You seem to have a good eye for shadows against buildings @otage. Every since you're first one I've been looking for something similar but we don't have many blank walls around here, not to mention a lot of grey days recently too!

How do you make a gif? Is that an app on your phone?

Thanks!

To create this GIF I used the built-in "live" photo setting on my iPhone and converted it to a GIF with the iPhone built-in GIF generator (available in ios 11 and up). To convert animation or raw video to GIFs I use Final Cut Pro for editing and ImgPlay (iPhone app) to convert the video to a GIF. That's how I made the GIF of the time lapse shadows.

To anyone interested: I offer Photo, Video and GIF editing/creation services for payment with Steem or SBD. Just message me on Discord for a quote. https://discordapp.com/ (user @otage)

avatar.jpg

Thanks for the info. I have an android which is probably not fancy enough to have the equivalent apps. It's pretty basic.

Thanks for the heads up about the services you offer. Useful to know. 😊

If the ImgPlay APP is available for Android you should download it and try it out. You can edit video in the app too. It costs $2 to remove ads and the ImgPlay watermark. I think it is well worth it.

OK. Thanks @Otage. I'll take a look.

Depending on what music plays.. while I watch that GIF, I cant decide if, I like that it shows wind, or if it looks like supernatural forces are present.

Its crazy that your work has a way of making me stare for so long that I forget what my original thoughts were.

The GIF is on a short loop so its overlapping the movement but a little out of sync. It was a sunny day with that beautiful South African blue sky but the black and white does change the mood for sure.

Yeah BW can have that effect, it can my a sunrise like Armageddon lol.
I think its also the fact that the trees are naked. If they had leaves it would have changed the mood. Guess we will have to wait until Spring.

I need to learn to do gif images to bring life to my photography too. It's pretty nice.

You should try it out with the ImgPlay app.

Love these shadows! You are good at this stuff!

Thanks! That means a lot coming from the shadow connoisseur!

It kinda look scary though
Nice angle by the way.

It was a sunny day but in black and white leafless trees can look scary. Thanks!

Your post image is good

Thank you!

This post has received a 0.37 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @otage.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by otage from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85