Butterfly Day - Monarch MetamorphosissteemCreated with Sketch.

in #butterflyday5 years ago (edited)

Happy #butterflyday by @whatisnew here I have more pictures of the monarchs that are going through a metamorphosis in downtown Chicago.

Many crysalis are hanging off the flower planters right now. This one has a deeper blue green hue and the gold areas really stand out.

Here are a couple different sized caterpillars munching on orange milkweed.

This guy is starting the process of hanging upside down to turn into a crysalis.

This one is farther along in the process.

I caught these two early in the morning starting the hanging process.

By the time I got out of work they had aready turned into crysalis.

Here's a nice fresh crysalis.

This one is even more fresh the caterpillar skin has probably just fallen off.

You can start seeing the orange wings forming in this one.

This one is a bit farther along in the process. It's starting to turn a dark olive drab color.

This one has emerged.

Here is one of the planters that has become their nursery.

Happy #butterflyday hopefully I can get a few pictures of them emerging tomorrow.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The metamorphosis of these creatures is amazing to see.
By the way, I see you haven't staked your CCC. Do so immediately if you want to be eligible for a second airdrop, because it is happening this weekend and use the creativecoin tag for all your music, gardening or photography posts so you can earn too :) I have invested plenty and I want to upvote you!

Ah right, thanks for reminding me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful photos and very well spotted. Who would think they will be hanging on a concrete wall?

They seem to all want to hang on that same groove on the planters.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is so cool! Most people would walk past and never even notice.

I only saw one other person taking pictures of them.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are killing me @sketch.and.jam! You have been living my dreams with all of your amazing butterfly captures you have posted and I am in AWE of these Monarch photos!!! Looking at each one I am yelling, "No way!!! Unbelievable!"
I can't thank you enough for sharing these awesome photos. You made my day!

It was a nice surprise finding these guys in the city on my way to work. There were a couple other types of worms setting up shop too. I found a tiny bagworm and an unknown round gray crysalis. Hopefully next week some will be hatching.

Posted using Partiko Android

It sure was a nice surprise! Ew, I can't stand those bagworms. It will be interesting to know what comes out of that gray chrysalis. At least you have something to look forward to while going to work.

I have some great news. I found my first ever chrysalis and it is next to my back door. Yay! I was sooooo excited. Can't wait to the see the Black Swallowtail emerge. : )

Cool did you get any pictures? If you have a tripod maybe you could get timelapse...

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I got pictures of the chrysalis. Wouldn't miss that for anything! I AM the tripod! LOL! I will stand there clicking the camera every second.

I got a little tripod for my android phone and use the phone camera in hyperlapse mode for timlapse video. It works pretty well.

Posted using Partiko Android

I bet it does work good. I don't have one of those cell phones to take photos or videos. I just have a Canon digital camera but I do like it. I sure don't get amazing photos like you do though. I am excited to hear about what you find on your way to work. Have fun!

I would try my phone setup downtown but it would surely get stolen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing the transformation they go through.

Posted using Partiko Android

From plant matter to flying leaf.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent photos! Never seen anything like this before!! They are wonderful creatures!

They are indeed its been a while since i've seen them in their metaorphosis stages and of all places for them to be, in downtown chicago.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 12.04% upvote from us for your 1580 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 39% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83