2 Flitting Swallowtails Hovered around the yard

in #butterfly6 years ago

First time I've seen them do this in the yard!


0270.jpg

I was in the house yesterday late afternoon and my oldest, J, had just gone outside at my behest. He quickly entered the house again and yelled to me that there were butterflies in the yard. Now, I been seeing tons of Swallowtail butterflies all around the farm zipping around here and there, so I did not look immediately. When I did turn to look out the bay window I saw these 2 Swallowtails hovering above the ground at about 4 to 5 feet.

I grabbed my Nikon D7200 and hurried to try and catch the action. I had the camera set to auto and manual focus so I started focusing as fast as I could and taking rapid shots. To my utter amazement I actually managed to get somewhat clear shots of the Swallowtails in flight.

pair.gif

What you can't see in the images is our dog Jax is sitting beneath them wanting desperately to bite them. It took a lot of calling his name to keep him from eating them but he acquiesced and let them be. After only a minute or so they took of in opposite directions and went about their own ways.

All I could think of after they took off was that it looked like they were having a midair conversation.

"Seen any good nectar lately?"
"Down by the river was nice."
"Your wings are a little disheveled. Everything okay?"
"Yeah, damn birds."
"Ahh, yep, occupational hazard."
"If you see a female send her my way would you?"
"Sure. But only after I have mine. Catch you later."
"Bye."

I like to think they were having a good conversation. There may be bully butterflies but that leads me down a whole nother rabbit hole.

011.jpg

001.jpg

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, following, or setting us to autovote on SteemAuto!

Sort:  

Whenever I see two butterflies like that I always assume they're just...makin' babies. Or trying to, anyway.

Your mid-air conversation is more PG-rated, and possibly more accurate.

They weren't touching so they might have been using a butterfly version of the devices from Demolition Man....

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-19T13:29:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 89.55/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25