Gratitude Day 43/62: CACYOF

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

2119707_M.jpg
Pixabay.com

This is day 43 of the gratitude challenge. Today I went to the University of Ibadan with @AdeJoke16 to make enquiries for a program and we got drenched by a heavy downpour.

The rain reminded me of my days in the University of Benin, Nigeria. I was part of the executive committee of CACYOF, a Christian Community on campus. I served as the general secretary. Part of my duties as the general secretary was to move into the secretariat which was not inside the university so that I can perform my duties effectively. There was a particular day I was commuting from the school to the fellowship secretariat and I was ambushed by a very serious downpour. The road was such that there was no place to seek shelter for the next twenty minutes unless I turn back. I needed to get home on time. It was running late and I won't want to walk the streets at night. That night is unforgettable. I was drenched to my underwear.

images (12).jpeg

CACYOF Logo

Today, thinking about that particular experience makes me happy. It brings back all the lovely memories. Nostalgia! It's one thing to go through the four walls of the university, it's another thing to make the university go through you. Those period I was serving as Secretary were very important to me. They helped shape me to become a better person. One of the things that is critical in the making of a man is the process that he goes through. Going through the process of servitude helped me become a better person. It wasn't easy combining my voluntary service at the secretariate with my academics. In retrospect, it was a worthwhile experience.

Today I'm grateful for the experience and lessons I learned by serving in CACYOF fellowship.

Thank you very much

Sort:  

The rain today wasn't a funny one. Kept me indoor all through...
Nice to have you share your memories here with us...
Dropping my entry for #gratitudeday43 soon

It is always hectic to combine school activities with other activities. However, the experience is worth it.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28