Gratitude Day 42/62: Greed

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

“I bargained with Life for a penny,
And Life would pay no more,
However, I begged at evening
When I counted my scanty store;

For Life is just an employer,
He gives you what you ask,
But once you have set the wages,
Why, you must bear the task.

I worked for a menial's hire,
Only to learn, dismayed,
That any wage I had asked of Life,
Life would have paid.”
― Jessie B. Rittenhouse


This post is inspired by a friend who is not greedy, by a friend who is not complete. I believe that a little tiny bit of greed is good. Actually, greed is a form of energy. It motivates and propels people to do stuff. Greed may not be the best source of motivation, the best source is love and purpose but greed is undeniably a potent fuel.

fisherman-1863914_1920.jpg
Pixabay.com

Someone said that the cure for laziness is greed. There was a fisherman who was sitting on his boat waiting for his customer to come and carry the basket of fish he just fished from the river. A days work well done. Although it was just 2 pm, this fellow was through for the day. A wealthy businessman saw him and asked him why he is retiring for the day so early. He said he saw no other alternative since he got just the right amount he needed for his family and his customer. The businessman said, "why don't you fish some more so that you can get more customers and sell more fish and buy a bigger boat and expand your business?" The poor fisherman said: "I got all I need now, I have no need for more".

What do you think about this fisherman? Is he lazy?

Too much greed is bad. Greed itself is bad. I believe that one needs just a tiny little drop of greed, I don't mean that one should be greedy, a tiny drop and not more than that because greed is a destructive form of energy. In any vessel/system, when the greed energy becomes greater than the love energy, the vessel/system collapses. But greed is an essential part of our existence and many will not accept this but the truth is that we all have the potential for insatiety. We will always long for something better or bigger.

Today I'm grateful that I have a tiny drop of greed and I am honest enough to admit it. I'm not greedy. I want more from life. I want to live a good and comfortable life. I am even more grateful that the love in my heart is an ocean compared to the tiny drop of greed that I have. I am grateful that I understand this and I know how to control myself.

smiley-821997_1920.jpg
Pixabay.com

Thank you very much for reading.

Sort:  

Best moments of life.

me gusta tu publicacion

Hi friends, I'm going to tell you a story about what can happen with greed:
https://steemit.com/busy/@maribelquere97/gratitude-day-42-62-greed

Okay. I'll check it out

I agree. Too much of anything isn't good but that doesn't mean u can't have any of anything. It's all about priorities and proportion and though greed might seem like a volatile means of motivation but it is still useful, like using Maggi instead of salt, it helps a lot but the former can easily make things in excess than the latter which means more management will be required for moderation. This was such an enlightening post for me and I would say I'm greedy myself for some things.

great explanation of life...:)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Well, there is nothing good that has no bad side. Greedy is never a driven force for me and it will never be. If you are too greedy at times, you care only about yourself.
A single thing I like about being greedy is that you won't let go easily.

My gratitude day challenge
Day 42

https://steemit.com/gratitudeday42/@ohakfarm/gratitude-day-42-62-memory

Exactly there is always two sides to a coin and the test of a first rate intelligence is the ability to stand somewhere you can see both sides.

Boss @tojukaka i have done the part 2 of my gratitude day, pls check it out here i hope you liked it...https://steemit.com/story/@deeclown/gratitude-day-42-asthma-inflicting-pain-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17