Phnom Penh - Cambodia - Part 38

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

A smooth border crossing took me into Cambodia but then things took a turn downhill when I was scammed. I thought I was doing someone a good turn but in the end I found out I was being used.
IMG_2637.JPG

IMG_2641.JPG
IMG_2588.JPG

Phnom Penh
My first stop was at a Christian Homestay, to stay with a friend of a friend, situated on the outskirts of the city of Phnom Penh.

After a much needed haircut and shave, I set out to one of the highlights of my time in Cambodia, a visit to the Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda. The Palace dominates the skyline of Phnom Phenn; being the official residence of the Royal Family means some parts are out of bounds but there is plenty to see and the peace offered feels like you have been transported in to another time.

Back to the house I enjoyed traditional Kymner food while we sat on the floor sharing more stories.

The following day I went to see the famous ‘Killing Fields’. This is a number of sites where over a million people were killed and buried by the Communist Kymer Regime between 1975 and 1979.
Learning what went on here is a harrowing experience. There is a tree here called the Chankiri Tree or Killing Tree; children’s heads were smashed against the tree because their parents were accused of crimes against the Kymer Rouge. It was done so that the children "wouldn't grow up and take revenge for their parents' deaths". It is said that some of the soldiers laughed as they beat the children against the trees, as not laughing could have indicated sympathy, making the soldier himself a target.

I was very fortunate that I spent Christmas with a Christian family and also my time at this Christian Homestay took place over the Easter weekend. On Easter Sunday some of the house shared a tuktuk to New Life Church which was a great experience. A non-denominational church very much like my home church - Longton Community Church. It had three services and a translation of the preach was transmitted via radios, a great idea. I also enjoyed a taste of home later by way of a ‘Shepherd’s Pie’.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17