INTRODUCTION TO GARDENING: Tips, photos and flowers! PART II

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

0000a2.jpg
Close up of a cosmos flower

cosmosmacro.jpg

Hi, my name is @steamdan. I live in Venezuela, and I love science, nature and art. Our country has been through some turbulent times, but I am still very commited to doing what I can to help my community here. And I plan on doing it with my best tools: mind, heart and a well driven ambition to succeed.

0000a4.jpg

Over the past years, I have been planting several flowers and trees. Some I plant into pots and others directly into the ground. At first, I started with only a couple of species, now I believe I have over 100 different types, and thousands of plants!

che1a.jpg

It hasn't been easy though. My region lacks occasional rains and storms, so it gets very hot during the day, especially at noon. Big trees dry out and many others are struggling to survive this arid weather. On top of that, the water supply service isn't working as it should. There isn't even enough tap water here to support the entire venezuelan population, and on top of that the water being supplied isn't clean nor safe enough.

a1o1.jpg

You might think that we are living in a horrible humanitarian crisis, and you would be right. I believe I need to set an example of what I think needs to be done in order to solve this situation, to raise awareness, and my voice about what's happening not only in my country, but worlwide too.

amuay-4.jpg
Source

In 2012 there was an explosion in an oil refinery, no more than a mile from where I live. The venezuelan government never took responsabilty for an accident that killed dozens and destroyed an entire area, where houses and stores were blown out in pieces. This happened almost ten years after the government politically centralized PDVSA (oil company) and fired thousands of employees who weren't aligned to the government's decisions. I will be talking more about this accident and the venezuelan situation in another post.

00000.jpg
Source

Because of this and many other questionable decisions, I must adress the difficulties that venezuelans must go through in order to have a fair life, our human rights are also being disrespected in many other ways. And what has this to do with the work I'm promoting? why do I want to help planting trees?

IMG_8892.jpg

There is a big difference between having nature spread all over a neighborhood and having just a few plants in some yards. Not only temperature but the entire environment is going to be either cooler or hotter, capable of hosting many plants or drying them out as the sun burns our already desertic region, affecting not only wildlife but all of our towns as well.

00001a.jpg

This is where I enter the picture and provide a service that isn't even asked by the citizens nor the government (yet). My plan is to make donations to several companies, entities and people in general, so they can foster plants in order to fight the current climate crisis and drought which are getting worse every year. Mostly due to the fact that because of the lack of tap water, many squares and areas are being abandoned and many remaining trees are also being cut down or left to die in these hard conditions. I believe I will make not only an improvement, I will lead an epic movement that could change this region and maybe the entire country's current direction towards its future. Do you think I'm pointing in the right direction? Take a look at my soldiers.

00a.jpg

00b.jpg

00c.jpg

I'll be posting updates and different stories/photos/tips/hacks.

Stay tuned and steem up!

I also would like to thank these guys for their constant motivation and support in this platform, you can check their blogs out and give them a follow if you like!

@livesustainably

@melbookermusic

@creativetruth

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

My region lacks ocassional rains and storms, so it gets very hot during the day, especially at noon.
it should be occasion instead of ocassion.

Really enjoyed this post. Thanks for doing such a stellar job re-organizing your post. It went full circle back to the plants, so we understand what your efforts are for, and that is what I enjoyed most.

Thank you! It means a lot to me to have such a feedback. I know I still have a long way to go, but I know I will be up to the challenge, to share my work but also to organize every thought in a better way. Cheers!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steamdan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 66.67% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @steamdan! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80