CRYPTOKITTIES SAGA: SEEKING 0%< RARITY < 1%

in #busy6 years ago

image.png

As a user of one of the most popular dApps in history, I felt a little FOMO in the first couple posts. I was seeing people come out with rare cats or flipping a huge profit. Others were boasting about getting gen 0 cats (who do they think they are?!?).

Cryptokitties has made several changes to make the buying experience smooth. I like the mighty river, have found the path of least resistance, and I am now trying to get super rare kitties in my fold.

How do I go about this?

There are several tools at my disposal.

There are more at github, but all I need for this exercise is the Kitty Toolbox, which provides me with a percentage to help me define the most rare cats in my possession.

image.png

As I searched through all 13 of my kitties, I started sorting them into categories. It is extremely bad to breed within the same family! Not only does it make holiday get togethers very awkward, it is hard to get a super rare cat. I sorted all my kittens by family, so I could visually see which cats can't mix.

Lineage:

282098 (.59%)
-> 284651 (NAN%)
-> 297480 (3.4%)

282013 (.04%)
-> 288196 (.046%)
-> 284657(.20%) -> 288480 (.01%)
-> 297480 (3.4%)

274546 (NaN%)
-> 287979 (0%)
-> 285214 (2.07%)

66619 (18.31%)
-> 288474 (41.92097%)
-> 110402 (7.98%) -> 288480 (.01%)

There it is. The cold hard truth that not all of my kittens are valuable in this cold cruel world. :(

I saw these numbers, and realized I need to make a cut off percentage. Something that would be a line in the kitty litter to separate the average from the extraordinary.

The rarity I settled on was 1%

With 1%, I could sell off any cats with a rarity of higher than 1%, and hope to get the elusive 0% rarity cat I've waited my whole life for.

After reviewing the list, I apparently already had a 0% rarity cat.

image.png

I want to be clear for you boys and girls reading along. The cryptokittens experience isn't all about turning a profit or getting the most rare cats. I just happen to enjoy those attributes of the game.

But if I were to look at all my cats and just pick the one I found visually absolutely irresistible, I would have to go for this one.

image.png

There is something about this kitties color pattern and combos that brings me.... so much....joy. Wow. There is a cryptocurrency token that brings me joy?

So, boys and girls, there are some things you can't put a dollar sign on. When something brings you joy, it lifts your spirits so much you get inspired to do crazy things.

And by crazy I mean something like naming your favorite cat Joy.

image.png

I am feeling a bit more grimy and down to earth now and I'm curious to see how much I can earn for selling my Joy.

image.png

OK. That isn't fair, cryptokitten gods!! I should be able to look up all my cats and get a rarity and not see this NaN% mumbo jumbo. I think someone is trying to send me a message that Joy can't be bought or sold like some scammy ico coin.

I do notice a bit of craziness as the rarity tool shows that I could potentially earn 99.528 ETH (probably more like the average of 11 ETH) if all stars and blockchains aligned and decided to be kind. That translates to $73000 (more like an average of $8089) to sell my Joy.

I think about all the things I could buy for selling Joy, then I realize, how difficult it will be to have that I'm selling you to buy a luxury car conversation for both of us.

Sort:  

I'm trying to get some trades going on steemit @ #steemkitties maybe you can post it there, and trade for steem or sbd to a fellow steemster?
Avoid the high cost of using ETH
Cheers

Thank you, next message I reply to is a person wanting to sell a kitty for steem.
It's coming together.
Cheers

This is really cool kittens i am loving that ....thanks for sharing this post :)

I guess it cannot be calculated because the rag doll is not included in the calculator yet. It is a 0.00000% cat anyway. However, the prices has crashed. We need lots of crazy cat ladies to pump it up again.

Cat lady to the rescue!

a fascinating and helpful post . thanks for the share. i'd really like to own some kittens - you've made it easier

Very nice article and good post.

after 4 month s i start my steemit account and nice to see ur work on crypto kittes and also ur work of making good logos is best and hope u r now expert in ur work what about ur logo work do u still like boths bears and ur logo work @rubenalexander have a great day

I have taken a break from logos for now. Thanks for those comments.

This coding effort is nice because it combines my love for art and code together.

great post and update on crypto kitties.
would be good if they resolve their clogging issues with ethereum. are you sure the transactions are better now?

transactions are very smooth now. I use their gas setting and 30gwei. To get around the breeding costs I just buy a few cats and breed in every combination possible with preference towards rarity%.

Wow..hope to have a feel of how they appear as they grow. Nice one dear...wish you and kitties great fun. Find time also to check my blog posts!

i have not tried it yet seems to be cool need to check that out right now

good post..

Hi. Creator of KittyToolbox here. It was just that your cat had a new attribute - "ragdoll" - that wasn't indexed yet. Now you can check it again - but the attribute isn't rare - 1%. And the cats are dirty cheap nowadays.
Btw, for 13 cats (less than 50) - you could use Portfolio Estimator link - it would process all your cats at once

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86