Reflex: never going to happen

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

There is a new project at kickstarter that is creating quite some fuss in the photography world, called Reflex.

I am not going to explain the project in details: in essence it's an SLR with interchangeable back and mount, built from the ground up. Just check the video (click the mage):

Reflex

For me this sound very much like the digital interchangeable backs that never came to light. For one, I find it very suspicious that not one photo features the mirror. According the website they have a working prototype (so they are very far in development, but from the images you only see bits and pieces with no indication of something working or not. Viewing an image or video with the mirror box would be something to relief this suspicion.

Secondly, built from the ground up and with a low production run (apparently) I cannot imagine that an SLR with interchangeable mount and back can be produced for such a low price (around $400) without making some serious concessions. A reflex camera is quite complicated to make, I would have guessed at least double the price.

Third, no word on the interchangeable mounts: will they feature automatic aperture?

My take? Never going to happen (but would be glad to be proven wrong...!)

Sort:  

Does the project has any form of VC funding or say big brands funding it?

Hi Skynap. No it hasn't...

Congratulations @pentaxke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

post was resteemed by @wayforhappiness

good post brother

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 6 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89