Steem Monsters Sunday!: Tournaments and An Economic Update

in #busy5 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 6.15.04 PM.png

Source

Excitement in the community continues to expand as the price of Steem impacts not only the ecosystem and its members but also the Dapps that are being created and growing. With an increase in price, the ecosystem as a whole starts to grow as more engagement is attracted due to the increase of the value of the Rewards Pool. It also has an impact to the projects, as for example, now Steem Monster packs although still having the same value in Fiat, take less Steem to purchase. However, it has been interesting to see that the value of the cards themselves has grown in correlation to the increase in Steem price.

The continued deployment of the tournament system has many users engaging with Steem Monsters as well. While I have not been able to play during the week other than completing my daily quest, I am participating in a handful of tournaments during the weekend and have seen that the amount of players engaging in them has increased since the tournament started. I feel more enjoyment playing the tournaments than the daily quest as it seems that more players are engaging with different levels of expertise which have given the battle system somewhat more diversity. I personally feel that I am more competitive when in a tournament knowing that each game can be my last. With the daily quest requirement not being a factor, I feel more strategic of the team that I build.

Tournament Reward 3-8-19.png

I have also seen that I have been quite successful playing the tournaments. This weekend alone I participated in four tournaments and got very good rewards for placing in two of them. For example, I got 15 Steem from placing second-place on a Friday tournament and got a Legendary Summoner from placing third place from a tournament on Saturday. Given the way the developers have setup the entry fees, these tournaments were free to join which made the return infinite. I want to again congratulate them for making this change after receiving feedback as it has certainly improved the engagement of the community.

Screen Shot 2019-03-09 at 9.10.33 PM.png

All this is being accomplish while still struggling to get past the Gold Division this season. However, I am feeling more confident in my strategies as well as playing more time than usual to practice on diversity during tournaments. This will come well as they have announced that soon we will be getting a new type of currency or tokens based on Steem-Engine just for playing in battles every day. It is said to reflect a similar distribution than the Steem Rewards pool so that is something to look forward to. More rewards for engagement is the formula we all want to see!

Screen Shot 2019-03-10 at 8.00.30 PM.png

This has led me to do something that I was quite hesitant to do before today. I finally used the @holger80 creation for @bookkeeping to see what my total investment in the game has been until now and the relative returns. However, have in mind that these results do not provide the full picture of my involvement in the game. As I have mentioned many times in the past, I am very jealous of spending my Steem for anything across the ecosystem as my main goal here is to accumulate until I become an Orca. Therefore, my main funding source for my cards has been through Fiat given the opportunity to do so. I have invested $2,257 for purchasing booster packs and the original starter pack when started last summer. In addition, I also invested $600 for my support of the Kickstarter campaign. That is definitely could have been a lot of Steem but I feel that with the upcoming card delegation program I will be able to start making it up. Lastly, the @bookkeeping does not consider the value of cards that I hold which with some minor exceptions I have held all since acquiring.

Screen Shot 2019-03-10 at 7.51.02 PM.png

Putting it all together, it seems that I am about breaking even in my investment in @steemmonsters! This is exciting for a number of reasons. First, I enjoy playing most of the time as it is something different from my daily work and a different way to engage in the ecosystem. Also, this is despite the fact that Steem is down about 50% since I started to buy booster packs last Summer. While luck has a portion to do with it as I did open two Legendary Gold Foils, I think this demonstrates the potential that is being built here in the ecosystem. Some posts that I enjoy on a daily basis are from @naillon11 and @fullcoverbetting (references below) whom “keep score” and monitor the value they are achieving from their rewards every season. They are more active than me these days in the buying and selling of cards but demonstrate that @steemmonsters is a sustainable way to generate Steem Power over time. Considering that this will continue to be developed with the upcoming Card Delegations and Tokens, I think it will only be a matter of time that we get a new phase of new players involved-great time to add my referral link!

I have never looked forward to playing Steem Monsters more than now which is encouraging given my thoughts only two or three weeks ago. However, as the ecosystem in general becomes more positive about everything of all things to do, I think the future is bright. I am working hard to consider next steps to making my season ranking better which include more investment and studying. One great source I have found is @bittrio who posts some great content and provides some strategy in his gameplay. Less than a week left for the end of the season! Get those rewards!

References:
https://partiko.app/@niallon11/steemmonsters-rewards-1-7-march
https://partiko.app/@fullcoverbetting/steemmonsters-season-9-is-half-way

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

Join the FreedomEx Exchange Platform to trade token with your Steem-based currencies!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

I wondering who this @naillon guy is and does he have better cards than me? 😃😃 lucky I was reading the post anyway.

Tournaments are nice and I'm just hoping there will be more in my time zone going forward. A lot of them are based during the night here. That and the card delegation makes things very interesting. You can see how the prices from some of the rare cards went up in the past couple of days as people are stocking up.

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL! Sorry about that! I will fix the name when I get home tonight! Exciting times coming and biw I am conflicted of whether to buy csrds in the market or try my luck with Booster Packs! I find myself setting up spreadsheets to start taking this even more seriously!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have the same thoughts in my head too. If steem rises we will lose money buying now but if the cards rise we could make profit. Hard to know what to do.

Love some spread sheets so don't be shy to post a few if you get something interesting going.

Posted using Partiko Android

Mmh maybe I will have to try out the steemmonsters tournaments.
I have nothing to loose except some time!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Definitely nothing to lose! If I could could place anyone can!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice analysis! Gotta make this game continue to grow!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! Seen you around battling! Look forward to it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Im going to try and start accumulating some cards again. I dont think the prices will ever go crazy, but it seems like a decent way to take some profits.

Posted using Partiko Android

I definitely think so! I think their price have been more stable than Steem itself!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice one! I finally remembered to hang around wasted 20 minutes winning nothing :( lol prob not the best use of my time at the moment.

Win some, lose some... It still often cones down to the luck of the draw!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I believe soon that it is just a matter of time before you recover your investment

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

How did you get those stats? I don’t see anything about it on the bookkeeping posts page.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Which ones? Card values are on the Steem Monsters Discord server if registered. Bookkeeping os a separate onchain service.

Posted using Partiko iOS

How did you see your total collective value?

Btw, congrats on placing so high in Pariko rankings!

0A4E63FE-CBDA-4D9A-9A44-C2ED3FFC753C.jpeg

How cool. I've actually invested a little more than that, but I've not played at all since the first season, so makes sense my card values haven't gone up much. I think I spent all together about $250.

Thanks for this.

Not bad having 4 legendaries!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! That is a screenshot from Discord... let me check if I can get yours for you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.482 which ranks you at #2074 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 17 places in the last three days (old rank 2091).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02